Viral Infections

There are many viral infections of the skin. Various kinds of warts (e.g. verruca vulgaris and (molluscum contagiosum) are pure skin infections, for example, while chicken pox, rubella (German measles) and hepatitis B and C are general viral infections which also involve the skin. Herpes zoster and herpes simplex, which particularly tends to occur again and again, are relatively common viral infections of the skin. Viruses are not able to metabolise by themselves. To cause an infection, they have to enter the cells of the human organism. The ports of entry for viruses are the mucous membranes during breathing, the digestive tract and the skin.

Herpes zoster (shingles)

Herpes zoster is caused by the varizella zoster virus. On initial infection, the virus causes chicken pox, which nearly every person suffers as a child. As the immune system weakens in middle or advanced age, the viruses which have stayed in the nerve ganglions after the initial infection can be reactivated. The result is then usually an illness which is localised in the area of the nerves concerned. The viruses spread along the nerves, accompanied by characteristic pain. Small blisters or pustules appear in groups in the areas of skin supplied by the nerves, and the skin appears red and swollen. The pustules rapidly fill up, and then slowly dry out. In many cases, the local lymph nodes also become enlarged and painful to pressure. Patients frequently complain of severe pain even before any symptoms appear. Depending on where it occurs, this pain can also be confused with lumbago (lumbar myalgia), heart attack or migraine. Even when the skin symptoms have disappeared again, the severe pain can still continue, sometimes for several months. The pain (zoster neuralgia) is described as burning and shooting, and can also lead to severe sleep disturbance.

The treatment of herpes zoster should begin as early as possible – within the first 72 hours – as the frequency and intensity of the post-zoster neuralgia, i.e. the long-lasting attacks of pain, can then be significantly reduced. Treatment is done both externally and internally with drugs such as aciclovir, brivudin, famciclovir, valaciclovir and, in cases of aciclovir-resistant strains of the varizella zoster virus, with foscarnet. These drugs inhibit the reproduction of the viruses. Local treatment to dry out the pustules is done e.g. with zinc mixtures or mixtures containing phenol-methanol-urea polycondensate, an artificial tanning substance. The effectiveness of local treatment with antiviral substances is disputed, but can be tried in particular cases. Ointments or solutions containing aciclovir, foscarnet, idoxuridin and tromantadin are in use. Severe pain should be treated at an early stage with pain killers, as pain is quickly “learned” by the body, so through early treatment the risk of long-lasting post-zoster pain attacks can be reduced. If post-zoster neuralgia should nevertheless occur, long-term treatment with analgesics (pain-reducing medication), possibly supported by anti-epileptic drugs (medication to suppress convulsions) or tricyclical antidepressants can be used. Tricyclical antidepressants raise the pain threshold. This therapy should be undertaken in cooperation with a neurologist. Local therapy can also be tried with capsaicin cream, or with neural therapy. Neural therapy is the injection of local anaesthetics into the areas of pain.

Herpes simplex (“cold sores”)

This skin disease is caused by two virus strains, the herpes simplex virus types I and II. The type I herpes simplex virus predominantly occurs in the upper half of the body (extragenital type), the type II herpes simplex virus in the lower half of the body, especially in the area of the genitals (genital type).

Initial infection takes place through small lesions in the mucous membranes and in many cases passes unnoticed, without producing any clinical symptoms. Once in the body, the virus stays throughout life in the nerve ganglions of the spinal cord. The viruses in these ganglions can be reactivated at any time, accompanied by the appearance of the typical skin symptoms.

The appearance of herpes simplex symptoms is usually provoked by immuno-suppressive factors (i.e. factors that weaken the immune system) such as general illnesses, viral influenza, colds, exposure to strong sunlight, or even feelings of disgust.

herpes simplex

Herpes simplex

Clinically, herpes simplex infections are characterised by groups of small blisters or pustules on a reddened skin; the pustules soon fill up with pus, ultimately dry out and are then shed as a scab. Subjective symptoms before the pustules actually appear are tightness of the skin, itching and burning. The most frequent localisation for the type I herpes simplex virus are the lips, chin and cheeks. Basically, however, it can occur on any area of the skin, including the lower half of the body. It is also typically accompanied by swelling of the regional lymph nodes. Initial infection in small children is often very severe in the form of so-called gingivostomatitis herpetica, which is an ulcerous condition covering the whole mucous membranes of the mouth and lips and accompanied by a marked feeling of illness as well as restlessness, fatigue, fever, vomiting, and in rare cases even spasms.

Genital herpes simplex produces blisters or pustules that burst rapidly, so that all that is often found are groups of ulcers the size of a pinhead. It is always accompanied by marked swelling of the lymph nodes, and not infrequently also by a burning sensation during urination. In women, the cervix is also often affected as well. An extremely rare complication that can develop in adults is herpes simplex encephalitis (inflammation of the brain). Infection of new born babies with the herpes simplex virus is dangerous as their immune system is not yet fully developed. In the case of new-born babies, the herpes sepsis can affect the brain and other organs such as the liver and spleen. The mortality rate is high. In rare cases, a herpes simplex infection can also occur on the cornea of the eyes. These corneal infections may leave scarring when they heal and so result in impaired vision.

A further complication is eczema herpeticatum, a massive, widespread occurrence of herpes blisters on the skin of patients who have a tendency to eczema such as atopic dermatitis or are suffering from severe general illnesses. This widespread infection is caused by autoinocculation (self-infection) from a herpes simplex e.g. in the area of the lips, or through heteroinocculation from a contact person with a herpes simplex infection. Eczema herpeticatum is an illness accompanied by severe itching, painful swelling of the lymph nodes, and high fever. These symptoms have to be treated internally, and in many cases patients have to go into hospital.

For the treatment of initial infections, or in severe cases, systematic (internal) virus-inhibiting drugs such as aciclovir, brivudin, famciclovir, foscarnet or valaciclovir are given. In the case of localised, uncomplicated attacks, the local application of virus-inhibiting ointments (6 times a day) during the first four days, i.e. in the phase of active virus multiplication, can shorten the illness. Aciclovir, foscarnet, idoxuridin, penciclovir, tromantadin and vidarabin have proved successful. A similar effect is also ascribed to zinc sulphate. In the case of more than 6 to 8 attacks of herpes simplex a year (herpes simplex recidivans), prophylactic treatment lasting up to 1 year with internal, virus-inhibiting drugs can be performed. Also alternative medical methods such as own-blood injections and acupuncture can sometimes bring success against recurring herpes simplex.

Virusinfektionen

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Virusinfektionen der Haut. So sind zum Beispiel die Warzen (Verrucae vulgares) und die Dellwarzen (Mollusca contagiosa) eine reine Infektion der Haut und die Windpocken, Röteln, Herpatitis B und C eine allgemeine Viruserkrankung mit Beteiligung der Haut. Der Herpes zoster und der Herpes simplex, der besonders zu Rückfällen neigt, stellen relativ häufige Virusinfektionen der Haut dar. Die Viren besitzen keinen eigenen Stoffwechsel. Um eine Infektion hervorzurufen, müssen sie die Zellen des menschlichen Organismus befallen. Eintrittspforten der Viren sind die Schleimhäute bei der Einatmung, der Verdauungstrakt und die Haut.

Herpes zoster (Gürtelrose)

Der Herpes zoster wird durch das Varizella-Zoster-Virus hervorgerufen. Das Virus löst zunächst bei der Erstinfektion Windpocken aus, die fast jeder Mensch in der Kindheit durchmacht. Bei nachlassender Abwehrlage im mittleren und höheren Lebensalter oder nach Krankheiten kann es zu einer Reaktivierung der Viren kommen, die nach der Erstinfektion im Körper in den Nervenganglien verblieben sind. In der Regel kommt es zu einer lokal umschriebenden Erkrankung im Versorgungsbereich des zugehörigen Nerven. Die Ausbreitung der Viren entlang den Nerven ist von charakteristischen Schmerzen begleitet. In den Hautzonen, die von den Nerven versorgt werden, erscheinen auf gerötetem, geschwollenem Grund gruppiert stehende Bläschen und Blasen, die rasch eintrüben und dann langsam eintrocknen. Oft sind die örtlichen Lymphknoten vergrößert und druckschmerzhaft. Häufig wird vom Patienten schon vor Auftreten der Hautveränderungen über starke Schmerzen geklagt. Diese Schmerzen können je nach Lokalisation mit „Hexenschuss“ (Lumboischialgien), Herzinfarkt oder Migräne verwechselt werden. Nach Abheilung der Hautsymptome dauern die starken Nervenschmerzen nicht selten über Monate an. Die Schmerzen (Zoster-Neuralgie) werden als brennend und einschießend beschrieben und stören den Schlaf empfindlich.

Die Behandlung des Herpes zoster sollte frühzeitig – innerhalb der ersten 72 Stunden – erfolgen, da so die Häufigkeit und Intensität der postzosterischen Neuralgien, dieser anhaltenden Schmerzattaken, deutlich eingeschränkt werden kann. Behandelt wird äußerlich und innerlich mit Medikamenten wie Aciclovir, Brivudin, Famciclovir, Valaciclovir und bei aciclovirresistenten Varizella-Zoster-Virus- stämmen mit Foscarnet. Diese Medikamente hemmen die Vermehrung der Viren. Lokal wird austrocknend mit z. B. Zinkschüttelmixturen oder Mixturen mit Phenol – Methanol – Harnstoff – Polykondensat, einem synthetischen Gerbstoff, behandelt. Die örtliche Behandlung mit antiviralen Substanzen ist umstritten, kann im Einzelfall aber versucht werden. Bewährt haben sich Salben oder Lösungen mit Aciclovir, Foscarnet, Idoxuridin und Tromantadin. Starke Schmerzen sollten frühzeitig mit schmerzlindernden Medikamenten behandelt werden, da Schmerzen vom Körper sehr rasch „gelernt“ werden und damit das Risiko postzosterischer, anhaltender Schmerzzustände verringert wird. Treten trotzdem postzosterische Neuralgien auf, kommt eine Langzeitbehandlung mit Analgetika (schmerzlindernden Medikamenten), eventuell unterstützt durch Antiepileptika (krampfanfallunterdrückende Medikamente) oder trizyklische Antidepressiva in Frage. Trizyklische Antidepressiva heben die Schmerzschwelle an. Diese Therapie sollte in Kooperation mit dem Neurologen erfolgen. Lokal kann evtl. auch ein Therapieversuch mit Capsaicin Creme oder alternativ mit einer Neuraltherapie gemacht werden. Unter Neuraltherapie versteht man die lokale Injektion von örtlichen Betäubungsmittel in die schmerzenden Areale.

Herpes simplex („Fieberbläschen“, „Gletscherbrand“)

Diese Hauterkrankung wird durch zwei Virustypen, dem Herpes- simplex-Virus Typ I und II hervorgerufen. Das Herpes-simplex-Virus Typ I findet sich vornehmlich an der oberen Körperhälfte (Extragenitaltyp), das Herpes-simplex-Virus Typ II an der unteren Körperhälfte, vor allem im Genitalbereich (Genitaltyp).

Die Erstinfektion erfolgt über kleine Schleimhautverletzungen und verläuft in vielen Fällen klinisch unbemerkt. Nach der Erstinfektion überdauert das Virus lebenslang in Nervenganglien,den Nervenknoten in den sensiblen Hintersträngen des Rückenmarks. Eine Reaktivierung der Viren in diesen Ganglien mit Auftreten der typischen Hautsymptome ist jederzeit möglich.

Meist provozieren immunsuppressive Faktoren (abwehrvermindernde Faktoren) wie Allgemeinkrankheiten, Virusgrippe, Erkältungskrankheiten, Sonneneinstrahlung, selbst Ekel das Auftreten des Herpes simplex.

herpes simplex

Herpes simplex

Klinisch erkennt man eine Herpes-simplex-Infektion an kleinen gruppiert stehenden Bläschen auf gerötetem Grund, die rasch eitrig eintrüben, schließlich eintrocknen und als Krusten abfallen. Subjektiv bestehen vor Auftreten der Bläschen häufig Spannungsgefühl, Juckreiz und Brennen. Häufigste Lokalisation für das Herpes-simplex-Virus Typ I sind Lippen, Kinn und Wangen. Prinzipiell kann aber jede Hautregion, auch an der unteren Körperhälfte befallen werden. Typisch sind begleitende regionale Lymphknotenschwellungen. Der Erstbefall bei Kleinkindern verläuft oft schwer in Form einer Gingivostomatitis herpetica, darunter versteht man ausgedehnte, geschwürige Veränderungen im Bereich der gesamten Mundschleimhaut und der Lippen, begleitet von deutlichem Krankheitsgefühl wie Unruhe, Abgeschlagenheit, Fieber, Erbrechen, selten Krampfneigung.

Der genitale Herpes simplex führt zu rasch aufplatzenden Bläschen, so dass man oft nur gruppiert stehende, glasstecknadelkopfgroße Geschwüre findet. Er ist immer begleitet von deutlichen Lymphknotenschwellungen; nicht selten treten auch Schmerzen beim Wasserlassen auf. Bei Frauen wird häufig der Gebärmutterhals mitbefallen. Extrem selten entwickelt sich als Komplikation bei Erwachsenen eine Herpes-simplex-Enzephalitis (Gehirnentzündung). Gefährlich ist die Erstinfektion mit Herpes-simplex-Viren bei Neugeborenen, da das Immunsystem der Neugeborenen noch nicht voll entwickelt ist. Bei den Neugeborenen werden im Rahmen dieser Herpessepsis das Gehirn und Organe wie Leber und Milz befallen. Die Sterblichkeit ist hoch. Selten tritt eine Herpes-simplex-Infektion der Hornhaut der Augen auf. Die Herde an der Hornhaut können narbig abheilen und das Sehvermögen beeinträchtigen.

Eine weitere Komplikation ist das Ekzema herpeticatum, eine massive, großflächige Aussaat von Herpesbläschen auf der Haut von Personen mit Ekzemneigung wie der Neurodermitits oder mit schweren Allgemeinerkrankungen. Diese großflächige Aussaat erfolgt durch Autoinokkulation (Selbstübertragung) von einem Herpes-simplex z. B. im Bereich der Lippen oder durch Heteroinokkulation über Kontaktpersonen mit einer Herpes-simplex-Infektion. Das Ekzema herpeticatum ist eine Erkrankung mit teils starkem Juckreiz, schmerzhaften Lymphknotenschwellungen und hohem Fieber. Diese Symptome erfordern eine innerliche und häufig auch eine stationäre Behandlung.

Zur Behandlung werden bei Erstinfektionen oder schweren Verläufen systemisch (innerlich) virushemmende Medikamente wie Aciclovir, Brivudin, Famciclovir, Foscarnet oder Valaciclovir eingesetzt. Bei umschriebenen, unkomplizierten Fällen wirken die lokale Anwendung von virushemmenden Salben ( 6x täglich) in den ersten vier Tagen, das heißt in der Phase der aktiven Virusvermehrung, krankheitsverkürzend. Bewährt haben sich die Wirkstoffe Aciclovir, Foscarnet, Idoxuridin, Penciclovir, Tromantadin, Vidarabin. Eine ähnliche Wirkung wird auch dem Zinksulfat zugeschrieben. Bei mehr als 6 bis 8 Rückfällen eines Herpes simplex im Jahr (Herpes simplex recidivans) wird eine bis zu 1 Jahr dauernde Prophylaxe mit virushemmenden Medikamenten innerlich durchgeführt. Auch alternativmedizinische Ansätze wie Eigenblutinjektionen und Akupunktur bringen manchmal Erfolge beim rezidivierenden Herpes simplex.