Peelings

    Vitamin A and retinoids

    Of the vitamin A peeling products, the most effective are the vitamin A acids tretinoin (all-trans-retinic acid) and isotretinoin (13-cis-retinic acid). Vitamin A acid works by increasing the rate of division of the basal cells, i.e. in thickening of the epidermis (the outer cells of the skin). The horny layer is reduced, the thickness of the epidermis increased, and the formation of collagen stimulated. Under the influence of vitamin A acid, the skin appears smoother and tauter, and the number and depth of small wrinkles and lines is reduced. The skin’s surface presents a more even appearance as horny blemishes and pigmentation disturbances are reduced. The local concentrations of treninoin used are between 0.01 and 0.1 %, with 0.05 to 0.1 % being the most frequent. The tretinoin is applied to the facial skin in the evening in the form or a cream or gel. After 8 to 12 months, application should be reduced to 2 or 3 times a week and can then be continued indefinitely. Because of the peeling and drying effect, moisturising creams should be applied in the morning. Sun protection products should also be used. In many cases, smoothing of lines and wrinkles does not become apparent for several months. As side effects, vitamin A acids can cause transitory dryness and redness of the skin, and in very rare occurrences also blistering. However, these side effects are of a local nature only. The dryness and redness are seen as the effects of the treatment. If the side effects are severe, the application on dry skin should be reduced to once or twice a week. If this is found to be tolerated well, the frequency can then be increased again. It is advisable to use UV filters during the daytime as vitamin A is inactivated by UV radiation.

    Superficial peelings should never be used on the eyelids. The skin of the eyelids is very sensitive and can easily become irritated.

    Fruit acids

    Chemically speaking, fruit acids are alpha-hydroxy acids and are also known by their abbreviation of AHAs. Fruit acids are contained in natural products and include such things as glycol acid, tartaric acid, citric acid, malic acid and lactic acid. AHAs release the protein connections of the dead cells on the skin’s surface. The horny layer is loosened and the individual horny scales are shed, allowing the “fresh” cells to appear. The skin appears smoother and more even. Small lines and wrinkles disappear after a few weeks. The fruit acids cause the rate of division of the basal cells to increase. Fruit acids are also good at retaining moisture. Concentrations of 6 – 12 %, or in some cases even higher, are used in the form of creams with a low pH value of 4. They can be applied daily, or in lower concentrations even twice daily, over a period of at least 2 to 3 months. Once a noticeable improvement has occurred, application can often be reduced to only 2 or 3 times a week. Fruit acids are sometimes used by dermatologists in concentrations of as high as 40 or even 70 %.

    The treatment with superficial peelings causes the horny layer to become thinner. However, a thinner skin also reduces the skin’s natural protection against sunlight. People using superficial peelings should therefore be informed of the increased sensitivity to sunlight, and are strongly advised to apply sun protection creams.

    The most effective and, aside from cosmetic operations, the most invasive form of cosmetic treatment are medium-depth and deep peelings. In this case, chemicals are used to treat the epidermis (outer skin), and the underlying layer, the dermis. This method can be applied to deal with small or bigger wrinkles, hornification and pigment blemishes in the face. The most commonly used chemicals for this kind of peeling are phenol and trichloroacetic acid.

    Phenol

    Phenol has been in use for more than 20 years as a standard procedure for chemical peeling treatment. Especially the Baker-Gordon solution has become firmly established, peeling the skin down to the upper dermis layer and allowing the treatment of medium wrinkles, light damage, superficial skin tumours, and pigment blemishes such as melasmae, freckles and lentigo. Phenol works by causing controlled chemical damage to the skin and upper dermis layer. During the healing process, the epidermis is renewed, with the formation of new collagen. The epidermis recovers fully within about 7 days from application. However, the skin is subsequently highly sensitive to light, so that direct exposure to the sun must be absolutely avoided for a period of 6 months. Additionally, UVA and UVB filters should be used for life.

    Phenol treatment must in no circumstances be used on the upper eyelids, right up to the area below the eyebrows. In treatment of the facial skin, there is only little risk of scarring. Because of the large number of hair follicles and sebaceous glands, reepithelialisation (recovery of the skin layer) is encouraged. Treatment of this kind on areas of skin other than the face involves a higher risk of scar formation. Another risk is that of hyperpigmentation or noticeable pigment contrasts at the borderline between the areas of treated and untreated skin. As men’s skin is thicker, it tends to be less suited for peeling treatment than that of women.

    Trichloroacetic acid

    The methods of peeling treatment using trichloroacetic acid (TCA) are more controllable and less aggressive than those using phenol. For superficial peeling, a 10 to 25 % solution is used, for medium-depth peeling a 30 to 35 % solution, and for deep peeling a 50 to 60 % solution. Deep peeling using TCA produces almost the same results as with phenol peeling. Because of the better controllability, it can also be used for treating the areas of skin outside of the face. TCA also has a less strong bleaching effect on melanin, the skin pigment. Because it is less aggressive. however, TCA is not able to treat deeper folds of skin. TCA also results in less production of new collagen by the dermis. Before undergoing peeling with TCA, it is recommended to use a milder peeling for a period of 4 to 6 weeks with a cream containing 0.1 % tretinoin and 4 % hydrochinon. Salicylic acid or alpha-hydroxy acids can also be used as the peeling agents.

    Both after superficial to medium-depth and medium-depth to deep peeling treatment, complete sun protection is essential for many months. Subsequently, high-filter UVA and UVB sun protection agents should be used for the rest of one’s life. As follow-up treatment, the use of tretinoin-hydrochinon cream appears recommendable for a period of 4 weeks. In the case of deep peelings, a 2 to 3 month pause must be observed before undergoing renewed treatment.

    Dr. Obagi’s Blue Peel

    The method used by the US physician Dr. Obagi is based on peeling with trichloroacetic acid in combination with a blue tincture which, in addition to a food dye, also contains saponin, a substance obtained from the yucca palm. This method is popular because it can evidently be more safely controlled than conventional peelings, and also appears to have fewer side effects. According to reports, the patients feel only a slight burning sensation while undergoing treatment. The subsequent healing process is also usually gentler, faster and less complicated. On the 2nd to 10th day after application of the peeling – depending on the concentration and depth of treatment – redness, swelling, peeling and also scabbing of the skin occurs. Sun protection products with a light protection factor of 30 and more must be used for up to 6 weeks in order to avoid unwanted pigmentation.

    Cryo-peeling

    Peeling for light-aged skin can also be performed by spraying on liquid nitrogen. The effect of this treatment is likely to be the same as that for surface or medium-depth treatment using TCA. Cryo-therapy is, however, not yet a standard procedure.

Peelings

    Vitamin A und Retinoide

    Von den Vitamin-A-Präparaten sind die Vitamin-A-Säuren Tretinoin (all-trans-Retinsäure) und Isotretinoin (13-cis-Retinsäure) die wirksamsten Anwendungsformen. Die Wirkung der Vitamin-A-Säure besteht in einer gesteigerten Teilungsrate der Basalzellen und somit in einer Verdickung der Epidermis (Oberhaut). Die Hornschicht wird vermindert, die Oberhaut verdickt und die Kollagenbildung angeregt. Unter Vitamin-A-Säure wirkt die Haut glatter und straffer. Kleine Fältchen und Runzeln gehen zurück. Das Hautoberflächenrelief erscheint gleichmäßiger, da Verhornungs- und Pigmentierungsstörungen vermindert werden. Die lokalen Konzentrationen von Tretinoin liegen zwischen 0,01 und 0,1 %, meist werden 0,05 bzw. 0,1 % eingesetzt. Das Tretinoin wird als Creme oder Gel abends auf die Gesichtshaut aufgetragen. Nach 8 bis 12 Monaten soll die Anwendungshäufigkeit auf 2- bis 3 mal pro Woche für unbegrenzte Zeit fortgesetzt werden.
    Wegen des schälenden und austrocknenden Effekts empfehlen sich morgens feuchtigkeitspendende Cremes. Ein Sonnenschutzmittel sollte aufgetragen werden. Eine Glättung der Falten stellt sich oft erst nach mehreren Monaten ein. Als Nebenwirkungen der Vitamin-A-Säuren können Trockenheit der Haut mit Schäleffekt und Rötung bis zur sehr seltenen Blasenbildung auftreten. Diese Nebenwirkungen sind ausschließlich lokaler Natur. Trockenheit und Rötung werden als Behandlungswirkung angesehen. Bei zu starken Nebenwirkungen sollten die Anwendungen bei trockener Haut auf 2 mal in der Woche vermindert und bei späterer guter Toleranz die Anwendungshäufigkeit wieder erhöht werden. Die Anwendung von UV-Filtern am Tag ist ratsam, da Vitamin A durch UV-Strahlung inaktiviert wird.
    Bei jedem oberflächlichen Peeling sollten die Augenlider ausgespart bleiben. Die Haut ist hier sehr zart und kann leicht gereizt werden.

    Fruchtsäuren

    Fruchtsäuren sind chemisch Alpha-Hydroxy-Säuren und werden nach der englichen Bezeichung alpha-hydroxy-acids auch als AHAs bezeichnet. Die Fruchsäuren sind in Naturprodukten enthalten. Zu ihnen gehören Glycolsäure, Weinsäure, Zitronensäure, Äpfelsäure und Milchsäure. AHAs lösen die Proteinverbindungen der abgestorbenen Zellen der Hautoberfläche. Es kommt zu einer Auflockerung der Hornschicht und die einzelnen Hornschüppchen schilfern ab. Die „frischen“ Zellen kommen zum Vorschein. Die Hautoberfläche wirkt gleichmäßiger und glatter. Kleine Fältchen verschwinden nach einigen Wochen. Durch die Fruchtsäuren wird die Teilungsrate der Basalzellen erhöht. Ferner stellen Fruchtsäuren gute Feuchthaltesubstanzen dar. Konzentration von 6 – 12 %, in Einzelfällen auch höher, werden bei einem niedrigen pH-Wert von 4 in Cremeform eingesetzt. Die Anwendung kann täglich erfolgen. Bei niedrigen Konzentrationen auch 2 x täglich über einen Zeitraum von mindestens 2 bis 3 Monaten. Nach deutlicher Besserung reicht häufig eine Anwendung 2 – bis 3 mal pro Woche aus. Hautärzte wenden Fruchtsäuren teilweise in Konzentrationen von 40 bis 70 % an.
    Durch die Behandlung mit oberflächlichen Peelings wird die Hornschicht verdünnt und die Lichtschwiele, die neben der Pigmentierung einen natürlichen Lichtschutz der Haut darstellt, nimmt ab. Patienten mit oberflächlichen Peellings sollten daher auf die erhöhte Sonnenempfindlichkeit hingewiesen werden. Die Anwendung von Lichtschutzcremes ist dringend angeraten.
    Sehr wirksame, aber auch eingreifende Behandlungen der Haut sind das mitteltiefe und tiefe Peeling. Bei diesem chemischen Peeling werden die Epidermis (Oberhaut) und obere Dermis (Lederhaut) behandelt. So können im Gesicht kleine und größere Falten, Verhornungs- und Pigmentstörungen behoben werden. Die gebräuchlichsten chemischen Peelings werden mit Phenol und Trichloressigsäure durchgeführt.

    Phenol

    Phenol wird seit mehr als 20 Jahren als Standardverfahren der chemischen Schälbehandlung eingesetzt. Besonders die Baker-Gordon-Lösung hat sich etabliert und schält die Haut bis in die obere Dermis (Lederhaut). So lassen sich mittlere Falten, Lichtschäden, oberflächliche Hauttumoren, Pigmentveränderungen wie Melasma, Sommersprossen und Lentigines wirkungsvoll behandeln. Durch Phenolanwendung wird ein kontrollierter chemischer Schaden der Haut und oberen Dermis erreicht. Im Rahmen der Wundheilung wird die Oberhaut erneuert und Kollagen nachgebildet. Etwa 7 Tage nach dem Eingriff hat sich die Oberhaut erneuert. Allerdings ist die Haut stark lichtempfindlich, so dass eine direkte Sonneneinstrahlung für 6 Monate unbedingt zu vermeiden ist. Auch sollte lebenslang ein hoher UVA- und UVB-Filter eingesetzt werden.
    Die Oberlider sind bis auf die Bereiche unterhalb der Augenbrauen unbedingt von der Behandlung auszunehmen. Bei der Behandlung der Gesichtshaut besteht nur ein geringes Narbenrisiko. Durch den hohen Anteil von Haarbälgen und Talgdrüsen wird eine gute Überhäutung (Reepithelialisierung) aus diesen Hautanhangsgebilden begünstigt. Behandlungen außerhalb des Gesichts neigen zu erhöhter Narbenbildung. Auch besteht das Risiko von Hyperpigmentierungen oder stärkeren Pigmentkontrasten am Übergang von behandelter zu unbehandelter Haut. Die dickere Haut der Männer ist für die Schälbehandlung weniger gut geeignet als die dünnere Haut der Frauen.

    Trichloressigsäure

    Die Peelingverfahren mit Trichloressigsäure (TCS) sind besser steuerbar und weniger aggressiv als die Schälbehandlung mit Phenol. Eine 10- bis 25 % ige Lösung wird für die oberflächliche Schälbehandlung, eine 30 – 35 % ige für die mittlere und eine 50 – 60 % ige Lösung für die tiefe eingesetzt. Die tiefen Schälbehandlungen mit Trichloressigsäure entsprechen in ihrer Wirkung fast dem Phenol-Peeling. Wegen der besseren Steuerbarkeit läßt sich die Haut auch außerhalb des Gesichts behandeln. Auch zeigt TCS eine geringere Bleichwirkung auf das Pigment Melanin. Wegen der geringeren Aggressivität lassen sich größere Hautfalten allerdings nicht mit Trichloressigsäure behandeln. So ist auch eine geringere Kollagenneubildung der Dermis durch TCS zu erwarten. Vor dem Peeling mit Trichloressigsäure empfiehlt sich über 4 bis 6 Wochen ein milderes Peeling mit einer Creme, die 0,1 % Tretinoin und 4 % Hydrochinon enthält. Als Schälmittel können auch Salizylsäure oder Alpha-Hydroxy-Säuren eingesetzt werden.

    Nach der Behandlung mit Trichloressigsäure sollte bei oberflächlicher bis mitteltiefer und mitteltiefer bis tiefer Behandlung unbedingt ein kompletter Sonnenschutz über Monate angewandt werden. Danach empfehlen sich hochfilternde UVA- und UVB-Lichtschutzmittel zeitlebens. Zur Nachbehandlung erscheint eine Weiterbehandlung mit einer Tretinoin – Hydrochinon – Creme über 4 Wochen ratsam. Bei tiefen Peelings ist eine 2- bis 3 monatige Behandlungspause vor einem erneuten Schälverfahren einzuhalten.

    Dr. Obagis Blue Peel

    Die Methode des amerikanischen Arztes Dr. Obagi basiert auf dem Peeling mit Trichloressigsäure mit einer blauen Tinktur, die neben einem Lebensmittelfarbstoff auch ein aus der Yuccapalme gewonnenes Saponin enthält. Beliebt ist diese Methode, weil sie offenbar sicherer zu steuern ist und auch weniger Nebenwirkungen zu haben scheint als die herkömmlichen Peelings. Angeblich verspürt man während des Peelings nur ein leichtes Brennen. Der Abheilungsprozess verläuft nach diesem Peeling meist sanfter, schneller und unkomplizierter. Am 2. bis 10. Tag nach dem Peeling stellt sich – je nach Konzentration und Behandlungstiefe – Rötung, Schälung, Schwellung und auch Krustenbildung der Haut ein. Bis 6 Wochen nach dem Peeling müssen Sonnenschutzpräparate mit einem Lichtschutzfaktor von 30 und mehr eingesetzt werden, um unerwünschte Pigmentierungen zu vermeiden.

    Kryo-Peeling

    Eine Schälbehandlung der lichtgealterten Haut lässt sich auch durch das Sprühverfahren mit flüssigem Stickstoff erreichen. Der Behandlungserfolg dürfte dem einer oberflächlichen bis mitteltiefen Schälbehandlung mit Trichloressigsäure entsprechen. Die Kryo-Therapie ist bisher aber noch kein Standardverfahren.