Sun Protection Factor

The sun protection factor (SPF) indicates by how much the sunscreen extends the time until erythema, i.e. redness of the skin, occurs under exposure to sunlight, or in other words, how long the body’s auto-protection time is prolonged. This time naturally depends on the pigmentation type of an individual’s skin, the geographical latitude, and the time of day. People with reddish-blond hair and freckles, i.e. photobiological skin type I, often have an auto-protection time of only 5 to 10 minutes in summer. So a sunscreen with an SPF of 30 for UVB radiation can protect the skin for about 3 hours. However, people should never stay out for this maximum period and expose themselves to the sun until a sunburn reaction occurs as already well before this, i.e. after about half the time, chronic light damage and skin ageing start to occur. Renewed application of a sunscreen with the same SPF does not extend the time of protection. Nevertheless, it is still advisable to keep reapplying the sunscreen because the substances contained in it are degraded by exposure to sunlight. Additionally, the concentration of the sunscreen on the skin is reduced by sweating and swimming and by being rubbed off by clothing, bathing towels and sand.

A good idea of the protection and filter effect of the individual sun protection factors is given by the following table:

Lichtschutzfaktor UVB-Absorbtion

SPF = sun protection factor / UVB absorption (%)

Choosing the right sunscreen
Important factors in choosing the right sun screen are your individual pigmentation type and the intensity of the sun’s radiation you will be exposed to. The radiation intensity depends on the geographical latitude, the time of day and the time of year, the weather, and also the amount of reflected radiation, e.g. through sand, water, snow, etc.

The auto-protection time of the skin varies strongly according to geographical latitude. In the Mediterranean region it falls by about 30 %, and in tropical countries by as much as 50 %. Altitude must also be taken into account as UVB intensity in particular increases with altitude. As a rule of thumb: UVB radiation increases by 15 % for each 1000 metres of altitude. It should also be remembered that a good half of all UV radiation occurs between 11 a.m. and 2.00 p.m. During this time, it is best to avoid the sun altogether and sit in the shade, or even better, indoors.

All these factors therefore have to be taken into consideration when choosing the right sunscreen. For bathing holidays, sport, or in hot, humid countries, water-resistant sunscreens must be used. The ones with the best water-resistance are liposome preparations and hydrodispersion gels, lipogels, oils and water-in-oil emulsions that contain silicon oils.

For winter sports, sunscreens with a very high SPF should be used as in winter the skin is not accustomed to sunlight. Moreover, the sun’s intensity increases significantly at higher altitudes and is also amplified by being reflected off the snow. For protection against the cold, water-in-oil emulsions, pastes or lipogels should be preferred. These provide protection against freezing. Hydrogels and oil-in-water emulsions are not suitable as they increase the risk of freezing because of their high water content.

Protection against the sun is especially important for children and adolescents. Recent studies have shown a close correlation between the number of sunburns people suffered in their childhood and youth and the likelihood of developing skin cancer later on in life. In the first year of their lives, babies should not be exposed to sunlight at all but should always be protected by clothing and a sun canopy. Later, in addition to clothing, if possible with textiles that do not allow UV radiation to pass through, they should also be protected with sunscreens with a high SPF (30 to 40). Sunscreens with reflecting substances (pigments such as titanium oxide, zinc oxide, iron oxide) should be preferred as these are not absorbed by the skin. Light-absorbing (chemical) sunscreens are absorbed only to a very small extent by adult skin, but children’s skin is more pervious. There are at present no indications that the absorption of chemical sunscreens by the lower layers of the skin has any harmful effects. Nevertheless, physical (pigment) sunscreens should be preferred for children.

When applying sunscreen, the lips should not be forgotten as they cannot protect themselves by producing their own pigment. Lipsalves with a sufficiently high light protection factor (SPF 50) should be used.

Lichtschutzfaktor

Der Lichtschutzfaktor gibt an, wie stark ein Sonnenschutzmittel die Zeit verlängert, bis ein Erythem, also eine Rötung der Haut, in der Sonne auftritt. Das heißt also, wie stark die Eigenschutzzeit der Haut verlängert wird. Diese Eigenschutzzeit ist natürlich abhängig von dem Pigmentierungstyp der Haut, dem geographischen Breitengrad und der Tageszeit. Rötlich-blonde Menschen mit Sommersprossen, also der photobiologische Hauttyp 1, haben oft nur eine Eigenschutzzeit von 5 bis 10 Minunten im Sommer. So schützt ein Lichtschutzmittel mit einem Lichtschutzfaktor von 30 im UVB-Bereich die Haut für ungefähr 3 Stunden. Allerdings sollte diese maximale Schutzzeit vor der Sonnenbrandreaktion nicht ausgenutzt werden, da bereits vorher, schon nach etwa der Hälfte der Zeit chronische Lichtschäden und Hautalterung gefördert werden. Ein erneutes Eincremen mit diesem Lichtschutzfaktor verlängert die Schutzzeit nicht. Trotzdem ist das Nachcremen sinnvoll, da Lichtschutzsubstanzen sich unter Einwirkung von Sonnenstrahlen zersetzen. Außerdem verringern Schwitzen, Schwimmen und Abreibung an Kleidung, Badelaken und Sand die Konzentration der Lichtschutzfaktoren auf der Haut.

Eine gute Vorstellung über die Schutz- und Filterwirkung der einzelnen Lichtschutzfaktoren gibt das nachfolgende Diagramm:

Lichtschutzfaktor UVB-Absorbtion

LSF = Lichtschutzfaktor / UVB-Absorbtion in %

Auswahl geeigneter Sonnenschutzmittel
Wichtig für die Auswahl des passenden Sonnenschutzmittels sind der Pigmentierungstyp der Haut und die Strahlungsintensität, der man sich aussetzen möchte. Die Intensität der Strahlung hängt von geographischer Breite, Jahres-, Tageszeit, Witterung, Strahlenreflexion, z. B. durch Sand, Wasser, Schnee, ab.

Die Eigenschutzzeit der Haut wechselt stark mit der geographischen Breite. Im Mittelmeerraum vermindert sich diese Eigenschutzzeit um ungefähr 30 %, in tropischen Ländern um 50 %. Auch ist die Höhenlage zu berücksichtigen, da besonders die UVB-Strahlung in der Höhe zunimmt. Als Faustregel kann gelten: je 1000 Höhenmeter verstärkt sich die UVB-Strahlung um 15 %. Zu beachten ist ferner, dass gut die Hälfte der UV-Strahlung in der Zeit zwischen 11.00 und 14.00 Uhr abgegeben wird. Während dieser Zeit sollte man die Sonne meiden und sich am besten im Schatten oder – noch besser – in Räumen aufhalten. Bei der Auswahl des geeigneten Lichtschutzfaktors müssen daher alle diese Faktoren berücksichtigt werden. Für den Badeurlaub, beim Sport oder in feucht-heißen Ländern sind unbedingt wasserfeste Sonnenschutzmittel anzuwenden. Wasserfest sind vor allem Liposomenzubereitungen und Hydrodispersionsgele, Lipogele, Öle und Wasser-in-Öl-Emulsionen, die Silikonöle enthalten.

Beim Wintersport sollten Sonnenschutzmittel mit besonders hohen Lichtschutzfaktoren angewendet werden, da die Haut im Winter nicht an Sonnenlicht gewöhnt ist. Außerdem nimmt die Strahlungsintensität in der Höhe stark zu und wird durch die Reflexion des Schnees noch verstärkt. Wegen des Kälteschutzes sollten Wasser-in-Öl-Emulsionen, Pasten oder Lipogele bevorzugt werden. Sie schützen vor Erfrierungen. Hydrogele und Öl-in-Wasser-Emulsionen eignen sich nicht, da sie durch den hohen Wassergehalt Erfrierungen begünstigen.

Sonnenschutz ist besonders für Kinder und Jugendliche wichtig. Neuere Untersuchungen zeigen einen klaren Zusammenhang zwischen der Zahl der Sonnenbrände in der Kindheit und im Jugendalter und dem späteren Entstehen von Hautkrebs. Im ersten Lebensjahr sollten Kinder vor der Sonne geschützt werden. Später sind, abgesehen vom Schutz durch Kleidung, evtl. auch durch UV-dichte Textilien, Sonnenschutzmittel mit hohem Lichtschutzfaktor (LSF 30 – 40) einzusetzen. Es empfehlen sich Lichtschutzmittel mit reflektierenden Stoffen (Pigmenten wie Titandioxid, Zinkoxid, Eisenoxid), da diese nicht resorbiert werden. Die absorbierenden (chemischen) Lichtschutzfilter werden von der Haut des Erwachsenen nur in sehr geringem Maße resorbiert. Die Kinderhaut ist jedoch durchlässiger. Allerdings gibt es noch keine Hinweise, dass die Aufnahme von chemischen Lichtschutzfiltern in tiefere Hautschichten schädigende Wirkungen hat. Trotzdem sind bei Kindern die physikalischen Lichtschutzmittel (Pigmente) zu bevorzugen.

Beim Lichtschutz sollten die Lippen nicht vergessen werden, da sie sich nicht durch Pigmentierung schützen können. Lippenstifte mit ausreichend hohem Lichtschutzfaktor ( LSF 50) sind zu verwendet.