Skin and Sun

Sunlight is energy, and it is essential for our lives. The sun activates our metabolism, stimulates the immune system and the production of hormones, and promotes our well-being. Consequently, light is used as a therapy for both the skin and the psyche (heliotherapy). Whether sunlight is healing or harmful depends solely on the right dose of ultraviolet rays.

Excessive exposure to sunlight causes sunburn as well as long-term skin damage and premature ageing of the skin. Acute and chronic damage to the skin from exposure to sunlight (photopathy) weakens the immune system and increases the risk of skin cancer. So it is essential to allow the skin to gradually acclimatise to the sun. This should be done over a period of about 3 to 4 weeks, with gradual tanning of the epidermis (outer skin) and thickening of the outer horny layer.

One of the positive effects of sunlight is the production of vitamin D by the body, though this is already achieved with very small doses of light, on a level far below that needed for a tan. Sunlight also activates the immune system and promotes a general feeling of physical well-being. This is why ultraviolet (UV) light is used for treating depression in the autumn and winter months (seasonal affective disorder – or SAD). This treatment is also effective without any tanning of the skin. However, a slight suntan can help make us feel happier and also raise our self-esteem.

The good mood that most of us feel in sunshine, and indeed in good weather in general, can be explained by the activation of the pineal gland, a small gland located in the brain. This responds to light and emits signals to the body that make us feel happier and arouse our energy and the urge to do things. With sunshine and blue sky, people tend to become positively invigorated.

The worsening depletion of the ozone layer – not only above the Antarctic – will lead to a marked increase in skin disorders, skin cancer and allergies of the respiratory organs. The ozone layer high up in the stratosphere protects us from too much UV radiation. Where the ozone layer is intact, it filters out virtually all the UVC rays from the sun, and also significantly reduces the amount of UVA and UVB radiation that reaches the earth. Of the sun’s energy that actually reaches the surface of the earth, about 65 % is infra-red radiation, 30 % visible light, and only about 5 % UVA and UVB radiation. It is practically only the ultraviolet light that affects our skin.

The ultraviolet radiation from the sun is made up of rays with 3 wavelengths: UVA light (with a wavelength of 320 to 400 nanometres (nm)), UVB light (with a wavelength of 280 to 320 nm), and UVC light (with a wavelength of 100 to 280 nm). These three kinds of radiation affect the skin in different ways.

UVA radiation has the longest wavelength, penetrates through to the dermis and causes browning of the skin within hours. Excessive UVA exposure leads to premature ageing of the skin by destroying the elastic and collagen fibres. UVA light also encourages the formation of skin cancer. One of the main reasons for this is that it weakens the skin’s immune defences. UVA radiation penetrates to a depth of about 1 mm.

UVB radiation is what causes sunburn and also delayed tanning. By directly damaging the genetic substance (DNA) in the cells of the epidermis, UVB is a major factor in the formation of skin cancer and its pre-stages. UVB radiation penetrates to a depth of about 0.5 mm.

The intensity of the UVA radiation varies only slightly over the year, reaching a modest peak in spring. UVB radiation, on the other hand, changes strongly in the course of the year, and depends on the time of day and year (height of the sun) and also on geographical latitude, i.e. the distance from the equator. The weather (cloud cover), reflection, e.g. from water, snow or sand, and altitude naturally also play a role.

UVC radiation is largely prevented by the ozone layer in the stratosphere from reaching the earth’s surface and therefore is not currently important.

Haut und Sonne

Das Sonnenlicht ist Energie und unsere Lebensgrundlage. Die Sonne aktiviert den Stoffwechsel, die Bildung von Hormonen und das Immunsystem und fördert unser Wohlbefinden. So wird Licht zur Heilung (Heliotherapie) von Haut und Psyche eingesetzt. Allein die richtige Dosis von ultravioletten Strahlen ist entscheidend für Heilung oder Schädigung.

Ein Übermaß an Sonnenlicht führt zu Sonnenbrand und die langfristige Lichtschädigung zu vorzeitiger Hautalterung. Akute und chronische Lichtschäden schwächen das Immunsystem und erhöhen das Risiko für die Entstehung von Hautkrebs. Wichtig ist also eine vernünftige Gewöhnung der Haut an die Sonne, die erst nach 3 bis 4 Wochen mit Bräunung der Oberhaut und Verdickung der oberen Hornschicht (Lichtschwiele) erreicht ist.

Positive Wirkungen von Sonnenlicht sind u. a. die Vitamin-D-Bildung, die jedoch bereits durch kleinste Dosen Lichts angeregt wird. Diese Lichtdosis liegt weit unter der Bräunungschwelle. Ferner aktiviert das Sonnenlicht das Immunsystem und fördert das Wohlbefinden. So wird UV-Licht zur Behandlung von Depressionen in den Herbst- und Wintermonaten (Winterdepressionen) eingesetzt. Auch diese Behandlung ist wirksam ohne Bräunung der Haut. Jedoch unterstützt eine leichte Bräunung die Stimmungslage und hebt das Selbstwertgefühl.

Die gute Stimmungslage bei Sonnenlicht, allgemein bei schönem Wetter, erklärt sich aus der Aktivierung der Epiphyse, einer kleinen Drüse im Gehirn. Diese Drüse reagiert auf Licht und gibt Signale an den Körper weiter, die unsere Stimmung aufhellen und den Tatendrang wecken. Bei Sonne und blauem Himmel blühen wir Menschen förmlich auf.

Der stark zunehmende Verlust der Ozonschicht – nicht nur über der Antarktis – wird zu einer deutlichen Erhöhung von Hautkrankheiten, Hautkrebs und Allergien der Atemwege führen. Die Ozonschicht in der Stratosphäre schützt uns vor zuviel UV-Strahlung. So werden bei intakter Ozonschicht UVC-Strahlen fast komplett abgefiltert und die Mengen an UVA- und UVB-Strahlen deutlich vermindert. Die Sonnenenergie, die die Erdoberfläche erreicht, besteht zu 65 % aus Infrarotstrahlen, zu 30 % aus sichtbarem Licht und nur zu etwa 5 % aus UVA- und UVB-Strahlen. Auswirkungen auf die Haut hat im wesentlichen nur das ultraviolette Licht.

Die ultraviolette Strahlung der Sonne setzt sich aus 3 Wellenlängen zusammen: UVA-Licht (Wellenlänge 320 bis 400 Nanometer = nm), UVB-Licht (Wellenlänge 280 bis 320 nm) und UVC-Licht (Wellenlänge 100 – 280 nm). Diese 3 Strahlungsarten haben unterschiedliche Wirkungen auf die Haut.

UVA-Strahlen sind langwelliger, dringen bis in die Lederhaut ein und führen innerhalb von Stunden zu einer Sofortbräunung. Langfristige Überdosierung fördert die vorzeitige Hautalterung durch Zerstörung der elastischen und kollagenen Fasern. UVA-Licht begünstigt auch die Entstehung von Hautkrebs. Ein wesentlicher Mechanismus ist dabei die Schwächung der Immunabwehr der Haut. Eindringtiefe der UVA-Strahlen: 1 mm.

UVB-Strahlen lösen die Sonnenbrandreaktion und verzögerte Bräunung aus. Durch direkte Schädigung der Erbsubstanz (DNS) der Zellen der Oberhaut ist UVB wesentlich an der Entstehung von Hautkrebs und seinen Vorstufen beteiligt. Eindringtiefe der UVB-Strahlen: 0,5 mm.

Die Intensität der UVA-Strahlen ändert sich wenig über das Jahr. Ein mäßiger Gipfel ist im Frühjahr zu verzeichnen. Die UVB-Strahlung hingegen ändert sich stark über das Jahr und hängt von Tages- und Jahreszeit (Sonnenstand) und geographischem Breitengrad, also der Entfernung vom Äquator, ab. Selbstverständlich spielen auch Wetterlage (Bewölkung) und das Reflexionsverhalten wie Wasser, Schnee, Sand, Höhenlage eine Rolle.

UVC-Strahlen werden durch die Ozonschicht der Stratosphäre weitgehend von der Erdoberfläche ferngehalten und spielen daher zur Zeit keine Rolle.