True Skin (Dermis)

The dermis is the layer that gives the skin its elasticity, and it contains the blood vessels, the adnexae of the skin (sebaceous glands, sweat and scent glands, hair and nails), and the nerves and sensory organs of the skin. The dermis is located underneath the epidermis and the connecting basement membrane, and provides the foundation for the outer skin or epidermis. It consists primarily of ground substance and a dense network of bundles of connective tissue (collagen fibrils) and elastic fibres. Collagen accounts for about 18 to 30 % of the volume of the dermis. The collagen fibrils allow the skin to stretch, and the elastic fibres give it its resilience. The skin is elastic and, depending on region, can stretch by between 10 and 50 %. When the skin is pressed in, the ground substance is displaced between the collagen fibrils.

The papillary dermis (stratum papillare) forms the upper zone of the dermis and consists of loose connective tissue. It forms finger-like ridges, connecting with the basement membrane and the epidermis. These ridges (papillae of connective tissue) increase the contact surface between the epidermis and the dermis and improve nutrition to the epidermis, which has no blood vessels. The papillae of connective tissue do not serve to connect the epidermis with the dermis. This is done only by the basement membrane and the fibres of connective tissue (collagen) of the dermis.

The deeper and thicker of the two layers of the dermis is called the reticular dermis (stratum reticulare) and consists of bundles of strong collagen fibrils that interweave with each other and cross each other at certain angles. Changes in this angle allow the skin to stretch without any loss of tensile strength. The resilience of the skin is given by the elastic fibres that return the collagen fibrils to their former position after stretching.

The ground substance is of great importance for the skin’s ability to store water. It is able to store fluid and electrolytes, and is a vital depot for water. Almost all the water in the connective tissue of the skin is held in unfree form and originates from the blood.

Blood and lymphatic system

To maintain the functions of tissues and organs, a constant exchange of nutrients, metabolism products and cell regulation substances is necessary betweeABB.5n the bloo

d vessels and the cells. The blood circulates in a closed system of elastic tubes, the blood vessel system. Blood which is rich in oxygen and nutrients is transported from the heart through the arteries and then distributed through ever narrower vessels into the most minute capillaries. The walls of the capillaries are semi-pervious, allowing oxygen and nutrients to be released one way and carbon dioxide and waste products to be absorbed the other. These are then transported in the blood through increasingly bigger blood vessels (veins) to the heart.

The blood vessel system of the skin consists of two network-like structures, located between the papillary and reticular layers of the dermis above and at the junction to the fatty tissue of the subcutis below. The deep network and the superficial network of vessels are linked by vertical vessels. From the upper network, very small vessels (capillaries) penetrate to immediately below the epidermis. The capillaries ensure the supply of nutrients to the tissue. The total length of the capillaries in the skin is about 240 km, while all the blood vessels of the body together have a length of 1440 km.

The blood vessel system not only guarantees the supply of nutrition to the cells and tissue but is also important for heat regulation and assists blood pressure regulation. In cold weather, the surface vessels contract, reducing the amount of heat released through them. In hot surroundings, the superficial vessels dilate, allowing more body heat to be released. 75 % of excess heat is given off through the blood vessels. Heat released via the sweat glands through evaporation accounts for about 25 %. The body’s heat is regulated in a complex process of interaction between the heat receptors of the skin, the brain, the blood vessels and the sweat glands.

The fluid which, among other things, enters the tissue through the semi-pervious walls of the capillaries, is transported away through the vessels of the lymphatic system. The lymph vessels mostly run parallel to the blood vessels. Unlike the capillaries of the blood system, the lymphatic system starts with dead-end lymph capillaries. The capillaries carry away the fluid from the spaces between the tissue. Many small capillaries join to form bigger lymph vessels, which gradually increase in diameter and wall thickness until emptying into the large veins near the heart. Apart from draining the fluid in the tissue (normally approx. 2 litres per day), the lymphatic system with the lymph vessels, lymph nodes, lymph organs, lymphocytes and other specific cells is also part of the body’s immune defence system.

Nervous system

Human response to the external environment is based, among other things, on the interaction between the nervous system of the skin and certain regions of the brain. Specific areas of the skin can trigger feelings of pleasure or defensive responses. The first impressions received by a baby on being born are transmitted through the skin. In the womb, the foetus already develops a sense of touch when still only 2.5 cm in size. Also after birth, the signals from the skin are of extreme importance for the sense of well-being and even the survival of an infant.

The skin performs its task as a sensory organ with a dense network of nerves, sensitive nerve fibres with the finest ramifications, and specially formed nerve end apparatuses located in all layers of the dermis, and to some extent also the epidermis. Pressure, vibration, temperature, pain and itching are transmitted via special receptory organs and nerves to the spinal cord and brain stem and then to the cerebral cortex of the brain. One square centimetre of skin contains up to 2 receptors for heat, 12 for cold, 50 for pressure and 200 for pain.

Merkel’s cells are located in the germ layer of the epidermis and serve as pressure points when touching. Pressure is transmitted by Meissner’s corpuscles, located directly under the epidermis, and vibration by the Pacinian corpuscles in the lower dermis and upper subcutis. In the case of infants and small children, there are specially numerous touch points on the lips and tongue, and in adults on the finger tips. The touch receptors enable us to recognise objects. The touch corpuscles, for example, are able to recognise depressions in the skin of only 0.01 mm and weight differences of 4 mg. This is what allows blind people to read braille and “see” with their finger tips.

Just under the surface of the epidermis lie the cold receptors (Krause’s end bulbs). These reach maximum stimulation at between 17° and 36° C. In the middle of the dermis lie the heat receptors (Ruffini’s corpuscles) with maximum stimulation at between 40° and 47° C. At temperatures above 45° C, the heat receptors signal pain instead of a feeling of warmth. The temperature stimuli of the skin are compared in the brain with the body temperature, and the brain then regulates the blood system via the nerves. The blood vessels dilate in heat and contract in cold.

Pain and itching, which can be closely related to pain, are transmitted via free nerve endings by medullated nerve fibres (type A) and non-medullated nerve fibres (type C). The thick, fast nerves of type A generate a sudden pain that normally triggers a reflex. The thin, slow nerves of type C transmit a dull, chronic pain and signal disturbances of the body. Most functions of the skin are regulated in precise interaction with the nerves of the vegetative nervous system.

The hairs can transmit contact through the fine nerve fibres of the hair sheath, while the finger and toe nails transmit pressure through touch corpuscles. Hairs, finger nails and toe nails also serve as organs of touch.

Gas exchange through the skin, i.e. “cutaneous respiration”, with oxygen being absorbed one way and carbon dioxide released the other, is very small. No more than 2 % of the body’s gas exchange takes place through the skin.

By producing vitamin D, the skin also has functions as a metabolistic organ. Vitamin D, an important component for calcium and bone metabolism, is produced from pre-stages of cholesterol. With sufficient exposure to sunlight, a healthy adult is able to produce his or her own needs of this vitamin (5 mg per day). To do this, only 20 to 30 minutes of daylight on the face and hands are sufficient

Lederhaut (Dermis)

Die Lederhaut dient als Dehnungsschicht der Haut und umschließt die Blutgefäße, Hautanhangsgebilde (Talg-, Schweiß- und Duftdrüsen, Haar- und Nagelanlagen), die  Nerven und Hautsinnesorgane. Die Lederhaut liegt unter der Oberbaut und der verbindenden Basalmembran und stellt gleichsam das Fundament für die Oberhaut dar. Sie besteht überwiegend aus der Grundsubstanz und einem dichten Geflecht von Bindegewebsbündeln (Kollagenfasern) und elastischen Fasern. Das Kollagen macht etwa 18 bis 30 % des Volumens der Lederhaut aus. Die Kollagenfasern garantieren die Dehnbarkeit und die elastischen Fasern das Spannungsvermögen der Haut. Die Haut ist elastisch und kann je nach Lokalisation  um 10 bis 50 % aufgedehnt werden. Beim Eindrücken der Haut fließt die Grundsubstanz zwischen den Kollagenfasern ab.

Die Papillarschicht (Stratum papillare) stellt die obere Zone der Lederhaut dar und besteht aus lockerem Bindegewebe, das nach oben zur Grenzschicht (Basalmembran) und Oberhaut zapfenförmige Vorwölbungen bildet. Durch diese Vorwölbungen (Bindegewebspapillen) wird die Kontaktfläche zwischen Oberhaut und Lederhaut vergrößert und die Ernährung der gefäßlosen Oberhaut verbessert. Die Bindegewebspapillen dienen nicht der Verankerung der Oberhaut mit der Lederhaut. Diese erfolgt allein durch die Basalmembran und die kollagenen Bindegewebsfasern der Lederhaut.

Die tiefere und dickere der beiden Lederhautschichten, die Geflechtschicht (Stratum reticulare), besteht aus kräftigen Kollagenfaserbündeln, die sich miteinander verweben und in bestimmten Winkeln überkreuzen. Durch Veränderung dieser Winkelstellung kommt es zur Dehnung der Haut ohne Änderung der Reißfestigkeit. Für die Geschmeidigkeit der Haut sorgen die elastischen Fasern durch Rückstellung der Kollagenfasern nach Dehnung.

Die Grundsubstanz ist für die Wasserspeicherung der Haut von großer Bedeutung. Sie hat die Fähigkeit, Wasser und Elektrolyte zu speichern, und dient als lebenswichtiges Wasserdepot. Das Wasser liegt im Bindegewebe der Haut fast ausschließlich in gebundener Form vor und stammt aus dem Blut.

Blut- und Lymphgefäßsystem

Für die Aufrechterhaltung der Gewebe- und Organfunktion ist ein dauernder Austausch von Nährstoffen, Stoffwechselprodukten und Substanzen der Zellregulation zwischen Blutgefäßen und Zellen erforderlich. Das Blut zirkuliert in einem geschlossenen System elastischer Röhren, dem Blutgefäßsystem. In den Arterien wird sauerstoff- und nährstoffreiches Blut vom Herzen transportiert und über immer dünner werdende Gefäße in kleinste Kapillaren verteilt. Durch die halbdurchlässigen Wände der Kapillaren werden Sauerstoff und Nährstoffe abgegeben und Kohlendioxid und Schlackenstoffe aufgenommen. Diese werden über zunehmend sich vergrößernde Gefäße (Venen) mit dem Blut zum Herzen zurückgeführt.
Das Blutgefäßsystem der Haut besteht aus zwei netzartigen Strukturen, die nach oben zwischen der Papillarschicht und Geflechtschicht der Lederhaut und zur Tiefe an der Grenze zum Fettgewebe der Unterhaut liegen. Das tiefe und das oberflächliche Gefäßnetz sind durch senkrecht aufsteigende Gefäße verbunden. Von dem oberflächlichen Gefäßnetz dringen kleine Endgefäße (Kapillaren) bis unmittelbar unter die Oberhaut. Durch diese Kapillaren wird die Ernährung des Gewebes gewährleistet. Die Gesamtlänge der Kapillaren der Haut beträgt ca. 240 km bei einer Gesamtlänge der Blutgefäße des Körpers von 1440 km.

Das Blutgefäßsystem garantiert nicht nur die Ernährung der Zellen und des Gewebes sondern reguliert auch den Wärmehaushalt und unterstützt die Blutdruckregulation.

Bei Kälte verengen sich die oberflächlichen Gefäße, wodurch die Wärmeabgabe über die Gefäße verringert wird. An heißen Tagen kann die Körperwärme über die weitgestellten Gefäße abgegeben werden. 75 % der überflüssigen Wärme wird über die Blutgefäße der Haut abgeleitet. Die Wärmeabgabe über die Schweißdrüsen durch Wasserverdunstung beträgt 25 %. Der Wärmehaushalt wird in einem komplexen Zusammenspiel zwischen den Wärmerezeptoren der Haut, dem Gehirn, den Blutgefäßen und den Schweißdrüsen reguliert.

Die Flüssigkeit, die unter anderem durch die Wand der halbdurchlässigen Kapillaren in das Gewebe gelangt, wird über das Lymphgefäßsystem abtransportiert. Die Lymphgefäße laufen im wesentlichen parallel zu den Blutgefäßen. Im Gegensatz zu den Kapillaren des Blutkreislaufes beginnt das Lymphgefäßsystem mit blind endenden Lymphkapillaren. Die Kapillaren leiten die Flüssigkeit aus den Gewebsspalten ab. Durch die Vereinigung vieler kleiner Kapillaren entstehen größere Lymphgefäße, die an Umfang und Wandstärke zunehmen und herznah in die großen Venen münden. Neben dem Ableiten von Gewebsflüssigkeit (normal: ca. 2 Liter pro Tag) ist das Lymphgefäßsystem mit den Lymphknoten, Lymphorganen, Lymphozyten und anderen spezifischen Zellen an der körpereigenen Abwehr beteiligt.

Nervensystem

Die Erlebnisfähigkeit des Menschen basiert auf dem Zusammenspiel des Nervensystems der Haut und bestimmter Bezirke des Gehirns. Umschriebene Hautareale lösen Lustempfindungen oder auch Abwehrreaktionen aus. Die ersten Eindrücke, die der Mensch bei der Geburt erfährt,werden über die Haut vermittelt. Im Mutterleib wird bei einer Größe von 2,5 cm bereits der Tastsinn entwickelt. Auch nach der Geburt sind die Signale der Haut von größter Bedeutung für das Wohlempfinden und Überleben des  Säuglings.

Die Aufgabe als Sinnesorgan nimmt die Haut mit einem dichten Geflecht von Nerven, sensiblen Nervenfasern mit feinsten Aufzweigungen und besonders ausgebildeten Nervenendapparaten in allen Schichten der Lederhaut, z.T. auch der Unterhaut, wahr. Druck, Erschütterung, Temperatur, Schmerz und Juckreiz werden über spezielle Aufnahmeorgane und Nerven zum Rückenmark, Hirnstamm und weiter zur Großhirnrinde geleitet.
In einem Quadratzentimeter Haut finden sich bis zu 2 Wärme-, 2 Kälte-, 25 Druck- und 200 Schmerzemfänger.

Die Merkel-Zellen liegen in der Keimschicht der Oberhaut und dienen als Druckpunkt beim Tasten. Die Meissner – Tastkörperchen, unmittelbar unter der Oberhaut,vermitteln Druck und die Vater-Pacini-Lamellenkörperchen in der unteren Lederhaut und oberen Unterhaut Vibration. Beim Säugling und Kleinkind sind die Tastpunkte besonders zahlreich an den Lippen und der Zunge, beim Erwachsenen an den Fingerspitzen. Durch die Tastrezeptoren erkennen wir Gegenstände. So nehmen die Tastkörperchen eine Eindellung der Haut ab 0,01 mm und Gewichtsunterschiede von 4 mg wahr. Dies ermöglicht Blinden, die Blindenschrift zu lesen und mit den Fingerspitzen zu “sehen”.

Dicht unter der Oberhaut liegen die Kälterezeptoren (Krause-Kältekörperchen). Das Erregungsmaximum dieser Kältepunkte liegt zwischen 17 und 36° C. In der mittleren Lederhaut befinden sich die Wärmerezeptoren (Ruffini-Wärmekörperchen) mit einem Erregungsmaximum zwischen 40 und 47° C. Bei Temperaturen über 45° C signalisieren die Wärmerezeptoren Schmerz anstelle eines Wärmeempfindens. Die Temperaturreize der Haut werden im Gehirn mit der Körpertemperatur verglichen und von dort über Nerven das Blutgefäßsystem reguliert. Die Gefäße erweitern sich bei Wärme und verengen sich bei Kälte.

Schmerz und Juckreiz, der eng mit einem Schmerzempfinden verbunden sein kann, werden über freie Nervenendigungen von markarmen (Typ A) und marklosen (Typ C) Nervenfasern übermittelt. Die dicken, schnellen Nerven (Typ A) erzeugen einen plötzlichen Schmerz, der meist Reflexe auslöst. Die dünnen, langsamen Nerven (Typ C) leiten einen dumpfen, chronischen Schmerz und signalisieren Störungen des Körpers. Die meisten Funktionen der Haut werden im feinen Zusammenspiel mit den Nerven des vegetativen Nervensystems gesteuert.

Die Haare können über die feinen Nervenfasern der Haarscheide Berührung übermitteln, wie dies auch die Finger- und Fußnägel bei Druck über Tastkörperchen vermögen. Haare, Finger- und Fußnägel dienen auch als Tastorgane.

Der Gasaustausch der Haut, die “Hautatmung”, mit der Aufnahme von Sauerstoff und Abgabe von Kohlendioxid ist sehr gering. Maximal 2 % des Gasaustausches erfolgen durch die Haut.

Bei der Produktion von Vitamin D erfüllt die Haut die Aufgaben eines Stoffwechselorgans. Aus Vorstufen des Cholesterins wird das Vitamin D, ein wichtiger Baustein für den Kalzium- und Knochenstoffwechsel, gebildet. Bei ausreichender Sonneneinwirkung kann der gesunde Erwachsene seinen Bedarf (5 mg / Tag) durch Eigenproduktion decken. Hierfür genügen 20 – 30 Minuten Tageslicht auf Gesicht und Hände