FAQ´s

    Is it possible to remove scars?
    Scars are harmless excess growth of the connective tissue of the skin that occurs after injuries or operations, or also as a result of inflammatory skin conditions. On healing, the scars may be flush with the skin, or have a raised profile, or form “craters” or “worm holes” in the skin, especially following acne. These occur most frequently in the face, on the ears and neck, the trunk – especially the region of the breast bone – and the upper arms.
    Scars cannot be completely removed. Sunken (atrophic) scars can be filled with materials that are also used for treating deep wrinkles caused by ageing (see “Ageing”).
    Hyaluronic acid or collagen can be used for this purpose, and, in some cases own body fat.
    Another possibility is so-called Z-plasty. When a scar runs at right angles to the natural folds of the skin, it is more conspicuous than when it lies parallel with them. In this kind of case, scars can be corrected surgically.
    To treat acne scars, dermabrasion or chemical peeling are other methods that are often used. In both cases, the upper layers of skin are removed to different depths, reducing the difference in level between the scar tissue and the surrounding skin. Similar effects can also be obtained by CO2 laser treatment. In the case of raised scar tissue, cryotherapy (the spraying-on of freezing substances) or injections of cortisone or interferon are other possibilities. As conservative treatment, ointments containing heparin or also plant extracts may be suitable. Silicon gel films and special plasters are also useful in the treatment of raised (hypertrophic) scars.

    What are aphthae?
    Aphthae are small, roundish, painful ulcers that occur on the mucous membranes of the mouth; they are usually greyish-white or yellowish coloured in the centre, with a red, inflamed rim. What causes them is not known. They sometimes occur frequently in some families. They may be triggered by certain foodstuffs or drugs, exhaustion and stress, as well as various illnesses. They eventually clear up spontaneously, without treatment. Gels may be applied to kill the pain.

    What is dandruff and how can it be treated?
    Our skin renews itself continuously approx. every 4 weeks, starting from the basal cell layer (see “Structure of the skin”). If this cell renewal process is accelerated through some kind of inflammatory condition, the result is visible scaling, or dandruff. It may also be accompanied by itching.
    The treatment is by special shampoos or solutions which may, for instance, also containing anti-mycotic (i.e. anti-fungal) substances, as severe scaling is often accompanied by colonisation of the scalp with certain yeasts. Shampoos containing salicylic acid, sulphur, tar, zinc pyrithion and selenium sulphide are also helpful. To stop the itching, preparations containing menthol or, in severe cases, also cortisone can be given.

    Are skin diseases catching?
    Only very few!
    Most children’s diseases such as chicken pox, measles and scarlet fever are infectious. Also parasites such as fleas, lice and the mites that cause scabies can be transmitted from person to person. Bacteria, fungi and viruses are transmittable to some extent, though more easily to people with a weakened immune system or whose a skin that is susceptible to eczema. Neurodermatitis, acne, eczema, nettle rash (urticaria) and allergies are not infectious.

    Is psoriasis catching?
    No. Psoriasis is a hereditary disorder of the skin, i.e. people are born with a genetic predisposition to suffer from it. It is not caused by a lack of personal hygiene. It cannot be transmitted through normal or intimate contact.

    Is there a cure for psoriasis?
    As psoriasis is a congenital disease, it is ultimately not curable. However, through continuous care and treatment, the visible symptoms and the severity of the disease can be positively influenced. Healing of the symptoms on the skin does not mean that the condition as such has been cured, and it can recur at any time throughout life. It is impossible to predict how the disease will progress and how well it will respond to any particular therapy. However, modern methods of treatment such as phototherapy (light therapy) are able to produce good results in many cases.

    Does psoriasis, neurodermatitis or severe contact eczema lead to skin cancer?
    No. All experience to date suggests that this fear can be ruled out.

    What is the difference between ointment, cream, milk and lotion?
    The main difference lies in the lipid (fat or grease) content. Ointments contain a high volume of lipids, creams a lower volume, milks even less and lotions hardly any.
    Ointments should be used on dry skin and for chronic skin diseases. With weeping and acute skin conditions, creams, milks or lotions should be preferred. For daily care, especially on the only slightly hairy areas of the body such as the trunk, arms and legs, body milk or lotion is recommended.

    What forms of medical preparations are best for use on the scalp?
    Solutions with differing levels of alcohol content and the appropriate active ingredients are best suited for the scalp. For dry, irritable skin, lotions should be preferred. Severe scaling (dandruff) can be improved with oil, including even olive oil, with additional salicylic acid to release the scales. All forms of medical preparations should be applied directly to the skin of the scalp by parting the hair. Oils should be applied very thinly to allow them to be washed out with mild shampoos. It is not the hair but the scalp that has the problem and therefore needs treating.

    What is an emulsion?
    An emulsion consists of oil and liquid, in most cases water. To be able to mix water and oil and achieve a stable combination between them, an emulsifier is necessary. In general, a distinction is made between oil/water (O/W) and water/oil (W/O) emulsions. The former contain a little oil in a lot of water, the latter a little water in a lot of oil.

    Will my skin lose the ability to produce its own lipid film if I use creams?
    No. The lipid film of the skin depends on the congenital (inherited) ability of the body to produce sebum. The production of sebum (grease) by the sebaceous glands depends on the hormones and the external temperature. Sweating increases the distribution of the film of grease on the skin. So the level of skin care required depends ultimately on genetic factors, hormone production and the ambient temperature. Regular creaming will not cause the skin to lose its ability to produce its own grease film.

    Why is the skin usually drier in the cold seasons?
    The main reason is that at low ambient temperatures, the production of grease by the sebaceous glands is reduced. Another factor is that in centrally heated rooms with tight, insulating windows, the air humidity is reduced, causing increased evaporation of moisture from the skin. Additionally, the grease on the skin is rubbed off by the thicker clothing usually worn and by showering with hotter water. Moreover, there is no “hidden” care with sun creams in winter, which are, after all, basically skin care products with additional UV filters.

    Is cortisone harmful when used externally?
    If used properly, cortisone accelerates the healing of acute or chronic skin conditions and has no harmful side effects. The important thing is that it should only be used for a temporary period, which in the case of stubborn skin conditions can be up to 2-3 weeks. Once the acute phase has healed up, treatment should be continued with a cortisone-free ointment or cream. The length of application and the level of side effects also depends on the localisation. The eyelids and genitals, for example, are particularly able to absorb corticosteroids. The face, armpits, groin and major body folds are less absorptive but are still more sensitive than the rest of the body. Treatment of the scalp with cortisone lotions or tinctures is relatively unproblematic. The 4th generation cortisone preparations are well tolerated, easily controlled and seldom produce side effects.

    Do skin conditions worsen during pregnancy?
    There is no clear answer to this question. Some women report a deterioration during pregnancy, while others report a marked improvement, e.g. in the case of neurodermatitis or psoriasis. On the basis of experience, acne improves during pregnancy, as well as about half the cases of psoriasis. Normal skin changes during pregnancy are general hyperpigmentation — especially of the surrounds of the nipples and in the genital region – and, because of the increased volume of blood in the blood vessels, enlargement of vein marks. Some skin conditions only occur during pregnancy and are known as pregnancy dermatoses. They are frequently accompanied by severe itching. Most of these phenomena only occur during the last three months or the last few weeks of pregnancy and disappear spontaneously after the birth.

    I have great problems with my skin condition. What can I do?
    Skin conditions that can be seen by other people unquestionably cause great mental stress. They often reduce the quality of life and the level of self-esteem. It is important to inform other people openly of the condition and to point out that only very few skin diseases are catching.
    Information and assistance can be obtained from patient organisations and self-help groups such as (in Germany) the German Psoriasis League (Internet: www.psoriasisbund.de) or the Skin Information Centre (www.treffpunkt-haut.de). These groups can also provide the addresses of local self-help groups or patient organisations.

    What is the acid barrier?
    The surface of our skin is covered by the hydrolipid film, i.e. a film of water and grease, consisting of sebum, the decomposition products of the keratinisation process, and sweat. As this hydrolipid film has a pH value of around 5.5 and therefore reacts acidically, it is known as the acid barrier.

    Why does the skin dry out through washing?
    Protective lipids on the surface of the skin provide a seal for the horny cells and so prevent the water which is stored in certain substances in the horny layer from evaporating. Through washing, especially with alkaline soaps, the lipid layer is removed, allowing the water in the horny layer to escape and evaporate. As a result, the skin becomes dry. By using acidic soaps and washing/showering with water that is not too hot, the layer of protective lipids is preserved. People with dry skin should regularly use care creams. Those who shower daily, do sport, sweat a lot and so degrease the skin, should regularly use skin care products such as creams, body milks or lotions.

    What factors cause the skin to wrinkle?
    Strong exposure to sunlight, and especially UVA radiation, damages the fibrous structure of the dermis, and this promotes the wrinkling process. As nearly all solariums use sunbeds with UVA tubes, they should only be used in moderation. Like severe exposure to sunlight, heavy smoking also fosters wrinkling. Frequent sunbathing and heavy smoking virtually double the level of wrinkling. Exposure to sunlight and smoking also have a negative effect on the immune system and so increase the likelihood of skin cancer.

    Is it safe to use solariums?
    Almost certainly, as far as sunburn is concerned. However, it has been proved that long-wave UVA radiation penetrates through the outer skin down to the dermis, the deeper layer of the skin, where it damages the fibres and supporting structures of the skin and promotes the formation of wrinkles. Additionally, increased occurrence of malignant melanoma (“black skin cancer”) is observed as a result of massive exposure to UVA radiation.

    Can I lessen the risk of contracting skin cancer?
    This question can be answered by a clear “yes”.
    The most important thing is, from earliest childhood, to avoid sunburn and to be sensible about exposure to the sun. Up to 80% of the skin damage that appears in advanced age has in fact already been acquired by the time people were aged 20. (See also “The sun and your skin”)!

    Note: It is not the sun that causes illness, but our underestimation of the sun’s effects!

FAQ

    Kann man Narben entfernen?
    Narben stellen gutartige Bindegewebsvermehrungen der Haut dar, die nach Verletzungen, Operationen, auch Entzündungen der Haut entstehen. Die Narben können nach Abheilung im Hautniveau liegen, sich wulstartig über die Hautoberfläche erheben oder sich auch trichterförmig, bei Akne häufig „wurmstichartig“ ausbilden. Besonders oft treten sie im Gesicht, an Ohren, Hals, Rumpf mit Bevorzugung der Brustbeinregion und der Oberarme auf.
    Narben lassen sich nur unvollständig entfernen. Eingesunkene (atrophe) Narben können mit Substanzen aufgefüllt werden, die auch zur Behandlung tiefer, altersbedingter Falten eingesetzt werden (siehe „Altern“). Dazu eignen sich Hyaluronsäure oder Kollagen, evtl. auch Eigenfett.
    Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist die Z-Plastik. Wenn eine Narbe quer zu den natürlichen Hautspaltlinien verläuft, fällt sie mehr auf, als wenn sie in den Hautspaltlinien liegt. In einem solchen Fall kann die Narbe operativ korrigiert werden.
    Zur Behandlung der Aknenarben bietet sich auch häufig die Dermabrasion bzw. das chemische Peeling an. Bei beiden Methoden werden die oberen Hautschichten unterschiedlich stark abgetragen, wodurch die Niveauunterschiede der Narben gemindert werden. Ähnliche Effekte lassen sich mit dem CO2-Laser erzielen.
    Bei wulstigen Narben kann auch die Kryotherapie (Kälte-Sprühverfahren) oder die Injektion von Kortison oder Interferon in Frage kommen. Konservativ werden heparinhaltige Salben und Pflanzenextrakte eingesetzt. Auch haben sich bei wulstartigen (hypertrophen Narben) Silikongelfolien und spezielle Pflaster bewährt.

    Was sind Aphthen?
    Aphthen sind kleine, rundlich-ovale, schmerzhafte Geschwüre an der Mundschleimhaut, die im Zentrum grauweißlich bis gelblich belegt und von einem roten, entzündlichen Randsaum umgeben sind. Die Ursache ist unbekannt. In manchen Familien treten sie gehäuft auf. Auslösefaktoren können Nahrungsmittel, bestimmte Medikamente, Erschöpfung oder Stress und verschiedene Krankheiten sein. Sie heilen spontan ohne Behandlung ab. Wegen der Schmerzhaftigkeit werden schmerzstillende Haftgele eingesetzt.

    Was bedeuten die Schuppen der Kopfhaut und wie werden sie behandelt?
    Unsere Haut erneuert sich ständig ca. alle 4 Wochen von der Basalzellschicht her (siehe „Aufbau der Haut“). Wenn durch entzündliche Reize diese Zellerneuerung beschleunigt wird, kommt es zu einer sichtbaren Schuppung. Manchmal gesellt sich auch Juckreiz dazu.
    Zur Behandlung können Shampoos und Lösungen eingesetzt werden, die z. B. antimykotische (pilzabtötende) Substanzen enthalten, da bei starker Schuppung der Kopfhaut häufig eine Besiedelung mit bestimmten Hefen vorliegt. Nützlich sind auch Haarwaschmittel mit Zusätzen von Salizylsäure, Schwefel, Teer, Zinkpyrithion und Selensulfid. Gegen den Juckreiz werden Zubereitungen mit Menthol, in schweren Fällen auch mit Kortison eingesetzt.

    Sind Hautkrankheiten ansteckend?
    Nur sehr wenige!
    Ansteckend sind die meisten Kinderkrankheiten wie Windpocken, Masern, Scharlach. Auch Parasiten wie Flöhe, Läuse und Krätzmilbe können von einem Menschen auf den anderen übertragen werden. Bakterien, Pilze und Viren sind bedingt übertragbar, leichter allerdings, wenn eine Abwehrschwäche des Körpers oder Ekzemneigung der Haut vorliegt. Neurodermitis, Akne, Ekzeme, Nesselsucht und Allergien sind nicht ansteckend.

    Ist die Schuppenflechte (Psoriasis vulgaris) ansteckend?
    Nein. Bei der Schuppenflechte handelt es sich um eine erbliche, also angeborene Veranlagung der Haut. Ihr Auftreten ist nicht beeinflußbar durch Körperpflege. Auch ist sie nicht durch Berührung und intime Kontakte übertragbar.

    Ist die Schuppenflechte heilbar?
    Da es sich um eine ererbte anlagemäßige Erkrankung handelt, ist sie letztendlich nicht heilbar. Durch konsequente Pflege kann das Erscheinungsbild und der Verlauf günstig beeinflußt werden. Eine Abheilung, d. h. Erscheinungsfreiheit von Seiten der Haut, bedeutet nicht Heilung. Die Krankheit kann lebenslang wieder auftreten. Aus ihrem Verlauf kann nichts über die Dauer und Therapierbarkeit gesagt werden. Die modernen Behandlungsmaßnahmen wie die Lichttherapie führen zu teils guten Behandlungsergebnissen.

    Verursachen Schuppenflechte, Neurodermitis oder schwere Kontaktekzeme Hautkrebs?
    Nein. Alle Erfahrungen sprechen gegen diese Gefahr.

    Wie unterscheiden sich Salbe, Creme, Milch und Lotion?
    Der wesentliche Unterschied liegt im Fettgehalt. So enthält die Salbe viel, die Creme weniger, die Milch noch weniger und die Lotion sehr wenig Fett.
    Salben sollten bei trockener Haut und chronischen Hautkrankheiten angewandt werden. Bei nässenden und akuten Hautveränderungen empfehlen sich Creme, Milch oder Lösung. Für die tägliche Pflege, besonders der leicht behaarten Zonen des Körpers wie Stamm, Arme und Beine, sind Körpermilch bzw. -lotion zu empfehlen.

    Welche Zubereitungsformen empfehlen sich für den behaarten Kopf?
    Lösungen mit unterschiedlichem Alkoholgehalt und entsprechenden Wirkstoffen sind besonders für den behaarten Kopf geeignet. Bei trockener, gereizter Haut werden Lotionen bevorzugt. Starke Schuppenbildungen lassen sich mit Öl, z.B. auch Olivenöl, dem zur Schuppenlösung Salizylsäure zugesetzt ist, bessern. Alle Zubereitungsformen sollten über das gescheitelte Haar direkt auf die Kopfhaut gegeben werden. Öle sind sehr dünn anzuwenden, um ein Auswaschen mit milden Shampoos zu ermöglichen. Nicht das Haar, sonderen die Kopfhaut ist erkrankt und muß behandelt werden.

    Was ist eine Emulsion?
    Eine Emulsion besteht aus Fett und Flüssigkeit, in den meisten Fällen Wasser. Um Wasser und Öl miteinander zu mischen und stabil zu verbinden, benötigt man Emulgatoren. Generell unterscheiden wir zwischen Öl-Wasser-Emulsionen (O/W) und Wasser-Öl-Emulsionen (W/O). Bei der ersten ist wenig Öl mit viel Wasser und bei der zweiten wenig Wasser in viel Öl emulgiert.

    Verliert meine Haut die Fähigkeit zur selbständigen Rückfettung, wenn ich sie eincreme?
    Nein. Die Fettung der Haut ist abhängig von der Erbanlage, Fett zu bilden. Die Fettproduktion der Talgdrüsen hängt von den Hormonen und der Höhe der Außentemperatur ab. Das Schwitzen erhöht dabei die Verteilung des Fettfilms auf der Haut. Das erforderliche Maß an rückfettender Pflege hängt also letztendlich von erblichen Faktoren, Hormonen und der Umgebungstemperatur ab. Die konsequente Pflege führt nicht dazu, dass die Haut ihre Eigenfettproduktion vermindert.

    Warum trocknet die Haut in der kalten Jahreszeit stärker aus?
    Der entscheidende Faktor ist sicher, dass bei niedriger Temperatur die Produktion von Fett in den Talgdrüsen vermindert ist. Auch ist in den zentralbeheitzen Räumen mit Isolierfenstern die Luftfeuchtigkeit erniedrigt und somit die Abdunstung von Feuchtigkeit an der Hautoberfläche erhöht. Ferner wird die Hautoberfläche durch Reiben der „dickeren“ Kleidung und durch das Duschen mit wärmerem Wasser stärker entfettet. Zusätzlich unterbleibt in den Wintermonaten die „ stille “ Rückfettung durch Sonnenschutzpräparate, die ja letztendlich rückfettende Pflegeprodukte mit Zusätzen von UV-Filtern sind.

    Ist äußerlich angewandtes Kortison schädlich?
    Bei sachgerechter Anwendung zeigt Kortison keine Nebenwirkungen, sondern beschleunigt die Abheilung der akuten oder chronischen Hautveränderungen. Wichtig ist die zeitgerechte Anwendung, die in hartnäckigen Arealen durchaus 2-3 Wochen dauern kann. Nach Abheilung der akuten Phase sollte die Haut konsequent mit einer kortisonfreien Salbe oder Creme weiterbehandelt und somit stabilisiert werden. Die Anwendungsdauer und die Nebenwirkungen des Kortisons hängen auch von der Lokalisation ab. So sind Augenlider und Genitalien besonders stark aufnahmefähig für Korticosteroide. Wengier aufnahmefähig, aber empfindlicher als die übrige Haut sind das Gesicht, die Achselhöhlen, die Leisten und großen Körperfalten. Die Behandlung der Kopfhaut mit Kortisonlösung und -tinktur ist relativ unproblematisch. Die Kortisonpräparate der 4. Generation sind gut verträglich und leicht steuerbar. Nebenwirkungen werden selten gesehen.

    Verschlechtern sich Hautkrankheiten in der Schwangerschaft?
    Eine klare Antwort gibt es nicht. Frauen geben sowohl eine Verschlechterung als auch eine deutliche Verbesserung z.B. der Neurodermitis oder Psoriasis in der Schwangerschaft an. Erfahrungsgemäß bessern sich während der Schwangerschaft die Akne vulgaris und in der Hälfte der Fälle die Psoriasis vulgaris. Normale Hautveränderungen in der Schwangerschaft sind die allgemeine Hyperpigmentierung – besonders der Brustwarzenhöfe und des Genitales – und eine Erweiterung von Gefäßmalen wegen der erhöhten Blutfülle in den Gefäßen. Einige Hauterkrankungen treten nur in der Schwangerschaft auf und werden als Schwangerschaftsdermatosen bezeichnet. Häufig besteht starker Juckreiz. Die Mehrzahl dieser Erkrankungen tritt in den letzten drei Monaten oder in den letzten Wochen der Schwangerschaft auf und heilt spontan nach der Geburt ab.

    Meine Hautkrankheit bereitet mir große Probleme. Was kann ich tun?
    Zweifellos ist die Hautkrankheit, die für die Mitmenschen meist sichtbar ist, eine große seelische Belastung. Sie mindert häufig die Lebensqualität und das Selbstwertgefühl. Wichtig ist, die Mitmenschen offen über die Erkrankung zu informieren und darauf hinzuweisen, dass die wenigsten Hauterkrankungen ansteckend sind.
    Informationen und Hilfe geben auch Patientenorganisationen und Selbsthilfegruppen wie der Deutsche Psoriasisbund (Internet: www.psoriasisbund.de) oder die Informationszentrale Haut (www.treffpunkt-haut.de). Über diese Gruppen werden meist die Anschriften der entsprechenden Selbsthilfe- oder Patientenorganisationen am Heimatort vermittelt.

    Was bedeutet Säureschutzmantel?
    Unsere Hautoberfläche ist von einem Wasser-Fett-Film überzogen, der von Talg, den Abbauprodukten der Verhornung und Schweiß gebildet wird. Da dieser Wasser-Fett-Film bei einem pH-Wert um 5,5 sauer reagiert, wird der Oberflächenfilm auch als Säureschutzmantel bezeichnet.

    Wie erklärt sich die Austrocknung der Haut beim Waschen?
    Schutzlipide an der Hautoberfläche versiegeln die Hornzellen und verhindern das Abdunsten des in der Hornschicht in wasserbindenden Substanzen gespeicherten Wassers. Durch Waschen, besonders mit alkalischen Seifen, werden die Schutzlipide entfernt und das Wasser in der Hornschicht kann so abfließen und verdunsten. Die Haut trocknet aus. Durch Verwendung saurer Seifen und durch Waschen/Duschen mit nicht zu heißem Wasser bleiben die Schutzlipide erhalten. Bei trockener Haut sollte konsequent zurückgefettet werden. Wer täglich duscht, Sport treibt, viel schwitzt und die Haut entfettet, sollte die Haut mit rückfettenden Pflegepräparaten wie Creme, Milch oder Lotion regelmäßig pflegen.

    Welche Faktoren verursachen Faltenbildung der Haut?
    Starke Sonnenbelastung der Haut, besonders mit UVA-Strahlen, fördert die Schädigung des Fasergerüsts der Lederhaut und somit die Faltenbildung. Da die Sonnenstudios fast ausschließlich Bestrahlungsgeräte mit UVA-Strahlern einsetzen, sollte deren Benutzung maßvoll erfolgen. Starkes Rauchen fördert genauso wie starke Sonnenbestrahlung die Faltenbildung der Haut. Häufige Sonnenbestrahlung und intensives Rauchen verdoppeln praktisch die Faltenbildung. Ferner beeinflussen Sonneneinstrahlung und Rauchen das Immunsystem negativ und begünstigen somit die Entstehung von Hautkrebs.

    Ist die Bestrahlung in Sonnenstudios sicher?
    Ziemlich sicher, was das Auftreten von Sonnenbränden anbelangt. Nachgewiesen ist aber, dass die langwelligen UVA-Strahlen durch die Oberhaut bis in die Lederhaut dringen, dort das Faser- und Stützgerüst der Haut schädigen und Faltenbildung fördern. Ferner wird unter massiver UVA-Bestrahlung ein vermehrtes Auftreten des malignen Melanoms („schwarzen Hautkrebses“) beobachtet.

    Kann ich das Risiko, an Hautkrebs zu erkranken, verringern?
    Diese Frage muß man mit einem eindeuten „Ja“ beantworten.
    Wichtig ist, von frühster Kindheit an Sonnenbrände zu vermeiden und klug mit der Sonne umzugehen. Bis zu 80% der Hautschäden im höheren Lebensalter werden in den ersten 20 Lebensjahren erworben. (Siehe auch „Haut und Sonne“)!

    Merke: Nicht die Sonne macht krank, sondern die Fehleinschätzung der Sonnenwirkung!