Face Lifting

    Facelifting

    Surgical procedures are recommended if it is desired to tauten certain areas of facial skin, or indeed the face as a whole, with the aim of achieving a “rejuvenated” appearance. With facelifts, it is possible to correct even extreme skin folds, flabby cheeks, sagging eyelids and wrinkled necks. Not all patients are equally susceptible to this kind of treatment. In the case of skin that has sustained severe light-ageing, peeling treatment may be necessary in addition to surgical procedures. In the case of heavy smokers, the healing process may also be disturbed, with undesirable scar formation.

    Most women decide on a facelift at the age of between 40 and 60. The best results can be obtained with people in their early 40s, as at this age the skin is still relatively elastic and the results last longest. At this kind of age, only minor facelifts are also usually necessary, with corrections to the mouth and eyes. From about 60, “major facelifts” are mostly necessary. In the case of these bigger operations, the muscles that provide facial expression are usually tautened and excessive fatty tissue removed. It should be noted, however, that the vertical folds around the mouth cannot be corrected by surgical methods. To achieve this, peeling, laser or injection methods have to be used.

    General remarks on surgery

    Nearly all facial operations can be performed under local anaesthetic. In most cases, however, a light general anaesthetic, so-called semi-narcosis, combined with local anaesthetics is recommended. This method allows the patient to undergo the procedure in a more relaxed manner. The patient only registers what is going on to a limited extent, but is able to respond to questions.

    Complications in the various surgical procedures are rare. The most common occurrence are haematomas (i.e. bruising) in about 2 to 3 % of patients. These usually occur in the first 2 hours after the operation. Depending on the extent of the surgery, a disturbed sense of feeling of the facial skin must be reckoned with. Injuries to the major facial nerves, on the other hand, are rare. In the case of nerve injuries, these effects disappear in about 80 % of cases within one year from the operation.

    Disturbances to the healing process, especially in the case of smokers with impaired blood circulation to the fine blood vessels, can result in extensive, visible scarring. This can usually be corrected in a second minor operation a few months later. As in the case of all surgery, complications can occur in the form of infections, thrombosis and embolism.

    A fresh, rejuvenated, and above all natural appearance is achieved by facelifts that achieve a clear correction, but without completely eliminating the skin folds that allow natural facial expression. “Over-tightening” of the facial skin usually corrects itself within about a year, but until that occurs, it tends to cause irritation to other people by the initial lack of facial expression and the “set” look of the facial features.

    Eyelid corrections (blepharoplasty)

    Excessive folds of skin in the area of the upper and lower eyelids, in some cases with sagging at the outer corners of the eyes, are among the most common symptoms of ageing skin.

    Moisturising face creams are able to smooth the finest wrinkles, but the excessive folds of skin remain. Peeling is risky in the area of the eyes and tends to bring only minor, short-lived improvement.

    In the area of the upper eyelids, it is relatively easy to remove the excess skin. Swollen looking eyelids are easy to correct by removing not only the excess skin, but also the excess fatty tissue underneath. In the case of the lower eyelids, as well as the excess skin it is often also necessary to remove or shorten part of the muscle (musculus orbicularis) that is located there.

    Excess tissue around the eyelids should be removed with caution so as not to produce an over-correction, giving the eyes a “sunken” appearance. Eye make-up can be applied from about the 10th day after the operation. Contact lenses can be worn again after a period of about 2 weeks.

    Forehead lift

    Sagging eyebrows and deep vertical and horizontal lines above the bridge of the nose and on the forehead can be corrected by removing excess skin and tightening the upper areas of the forehead. Smaller corrections can be performed by endoscope, through 3 button-hole sized incisions in the skin of the forehead above the hair line. The skin is thereby released using a fine endoscope, moulded into the desired shape and pulled upwards. A longer lasting result can be achieved by making a cut right across the head from ear to ear, above the hairline. In this case, the forehead muscle is shortened and excess skin removed, with the result that the forehead acquires a tauter appearance.

    Mini-lift

    In the case of minilifts, the skin of the cheeks, neck and skin is tautened. After removal of the excess skin, the skin is altogether pulled tighter and then stitched. The result lasts for about 4 years.

    Major facelift

    In this procedure, the facial skin is tautened by the removal of strips of skin around the margins of the face, i.e. at the hair line, in front of and behind the ears, and under the chin. Facial muscles are also shortened, if necessary. In the case of older people, a tautening of the facial muscles is always recommended. The excess skin (in many cases 2 to 3 cm) over the shortened muscles can then be removed. The sutures or seams are usually positioned “invisibly” under the hair at the temples, behind the ear and at the sides of the neck. The seams which are not covered by hair are placed in front of the ears, under the chin and on the lower side of the jaw.

Facelifting

    Facelifting

    Operative Verfahren sind dann zu empfehlen, wenn Gesichtspartien oder das gesamte Gesicht insgesamt straffer aussehen sollen, also eine „Verjüngung“ der Gesichtshaut erwünscht ist. Mit einem “Lift” lassen sich stärkste Faltenbildungen, schlaff gewordene Gesichtszüge, hängende Wangenpartien, seitlich hängende Oberlider und faltige Hälse korrigieren. Nicht alle Patienten sind gleich gut zu behandeln. Bei stark lichtgealteter Haut sind neben den operativen Maßnahmen häufig Peelingverfahren einzusetzen. Auch muß bei starken Rauchern eher mit Wundheilungsstörungen und somit Bildung störender Narben gerechnet werden.

    Die meisten Frauen entscheiden sich zwischen 40 und 60 Jahren für ein Facelift. Die besten Ergebnisse sind mit Anfang 40 zu erzielen, da in diesem Alter die Haut noch relativ elastisch ist und das Ergebnis am längsten vorhält. In den jüngeren Jahren reichen meist kleine Facelifts mit Korrekturen an Mund und Augen aus. Mit etwa 60 Jahren ist meist das „große Facelift“ erforderlich. Bei den größeren operativen Maßnahmen wird häufig auch die erschlaffte mimische Muskulatur gestrafft und überschießendes Fettgewebe entfernt. Zu beachten ist, daß sich durch operative Maßnahmen die senkrechten Falten um den Mund nicht korrigieren lassen. Hierfür sind Peeling-, Laser- oder Unterspritzungsverfahren einzusetzen.

    Allgemeines zum operativen Eingriff

    Fast alle Operationen im Gesicht können in lokaler Betäubung durchgeführt werden. Meist empfiehlt sich aber eine leichte Allgemeinbetäubung, der sogenannte Dämmerschlaf, kombiniert mit lokalen Betäubungsverfahren. Dieses Vorgehen läßt den Patienten gelassener und entspannter den Eingriff überstehen. Der Eingriff selbst wird nur bedingt wahrgenommen, der Patient ist aber ansprechbar.

    Komplikationen bei den verschiedenen operativen Verfahren sind selten. Am häufigsten werden Blutergüsse bei etwa 2 – 3 % der Patienten beobachtet. Meist treten diese Blutergüsse in den ersten 2 postoperativen Stunden auf. Gefühlsstörungen der Gesichtshaut sind in Abhängigkeit von der Größe des Eingriffs zu erwarten. Verletzung der großen Gesichtsnerven werden dagegen selten beobachtet. Bei Nervenverletzungen kann mit einer völligen Rückbildung der Beschwerden bei etwa 80 % der Operierten innerhalb eines Jahres gerechnet werden.

    Wundheilungsstörungen, besonders bei Rauchern mit beeinträchtigter Durchblutung der feinen Gefäße, können zu breiteren, optisch störenden Narbenbildungen führen. Diese sind in einem zweiten kleinen Eingriff meist nach einigen Monaten korrigierbar. Wie bei allen Operationen können als Komplikationen Infektionen, Thrombosen und Embolien auftreten.

    Ein verjüngtes und frisches, vor allem aber natürliches Aussehen wird durch Facelifts dann erreicht, wenn eine deutliche Korrektur erfolgt, aber die natürlichen mimischen Falten nicht völlig aufgehoben oder geglättet sind. Eine „Überspannung“ der Gesichtshaut korrigiert sich meist innerhalb eines Jahres von selbst, irritiert aber die Mitmenschen durch die anfängliche „Ausdruckslosigkeit“ und mimische Starre der Gesichtszüge.

    Augenlidkorrekturen (Blepharoplastik)

    Überschießende Hautfaltenbildung im Bereich der oberen und unteren Augenlider, zum Teil mit hängenden, seitlichen Hautpartien, gehören zu den häufigsten Symptomen gealterter Gesichtshaut. Feuchtigkeitsspendende Gesichtscremes können feinste Fältchen ausgleichen, die überschießenden Hautfalten bleiben aber bestehen. Peelingverfahren sind in Augennähe mit Risiken verbunden und bringen nur geringe, eher kurzzeitige Korrekturen.

    Im Oberlidbereich kann die überschüssige Haut relativ einfach exzidiert werden. Aufgedunsen erscheinende Augenlider sind leicht zu korrigieren, indem neben der überschießenden Haut auch die zugrundeliegende Fettgewebsvermehrung entfernt wird. Bei den Unterlidern muß häufig neben der überschießenden Haut auch ein Teil des Muskels (Musculus orbicularis) exzidiert und so der Muskel gekürzt werden.

    Die Entfernung von überschießendem Gewebe im Bereich der Augenlider ist mit Zurückhaltung durchzuführen, um Überkorrekturen mit „eingefallenen Augen“ zu vermeiden. Ab dem 10. postoperativen Tag kann ein Augen-Make-up aufgetragen werden. Kontaktlinsen können etwa nach 2 Wochen wieder eingesetzt werden.

    Stirnlift

    Seitlich herabsinkende Augenbrauen und ausgeprägte Runzel- und Faltenbildung oberhalb des Nasenrückens und auf der Stirn können durch Entfernung überschießender Haut und Straffung der oberen Stirnpartien behoben werden. Kleinere Korrekturen werden endoskopisch durch 3 knopflochgroße Schnitte in die Stirnhaut oberhalb des Haaransatzes durchgeführt. Die Haut wird dabei mit dem feinen Endoskop abgelöst, geformt und nach oben verlagert. Ein nachhaltigeres Ergebnis läßt sich durch den Kranzschnitt hinter der Haargrenze, das heißt einem bügelförmigen Schnitt von einem Ohr zum anderen, erzielen. Bei diesem Eingriff wird der Stirnmuskel verkürzt, überschüssige Haut entfernt und somit die Stirn gestrafft.

    Minilift

    Bei kleinen Facelifts wird die Haut an Wangen, Hals und Kinn gestrafft. Nach Entfernung der überschießenden Haut wird die Haut insgesamt leicht gespannt und vernäht. Das Ergebnis hält bis zu 4 Jahren.

    Großes Facelift

    Bei diesem Verfahren werden die zu straffenden Gesichtspartien durch Entfernung von Hautstreifen in den Randgebieten des Gesichts wie Haaransatz, vor und hinter den Ohren und unter dem Kinn gestrafft. Evtl. werden Gesichtsmuskeln verkürzt. Bei älteren Personen ist eine Straffung der Gesichtsmuskulatur unbedingt zu empfehlen. Über den verkürzten Muskeln kann dann die überschüssige Haut (häufig 2 bis 3 cm) entfernt werden. Die Nähte werden meist „unsichtbar“ in die Kopfbehaarung in Schläfenhöhe, hinter dem Ohr und in den oberen seitlichen Halsbereich gelegt. Die nicht von Haaren bedeckten Nähte liegen vor dem Ohr, unter dem Kinn und an der Unterseite des Kiefers.