Immune system

The skin is our interface with the surrounding environment and also the first line of defence of our immune system. The immune system is the defensive and protective mechanism of the body. The body fights off enemies trying to penetrate through the protective barrier of the skin. So early defence crucially depends on proper functioning of the skin. Inflammation and immune reactions work together to protect the body from attack both from outside and inside (e.g. through tumour cells). In a complicated interaction between processes in the vessels, messenger substances and inflammation cells, inflammation reactions repair defective tissue and support the defensive responses of the immune system.

The skin is constantly exposed to biological, chemical and physical attack from outside. The main task of the skin’s immune system is to ward off these harmful agents and influences or to render them harmless. The biological agents include such things as viruses, bacteria, fungi and parasites, the physical ones solar radiation, heat and cold. Chemical substances can cause specific hypersensitivity reactions, e.g. contact allergies. However, immunological responses may not only fight off harmful influences from outside, but can also trigger hypersensitivity reactions such as allergies and auto-immune diseases, i.e. immune responses directed against the body’s own substances. Common types of allergy are hay fever, contact allergies or intolerance to substances contained in food or medication.

The immune system of the skin consists of various cells and messenger substances involved in the regulation of immune and hypersensitivity responses between those cells. The cells include the Langerhans’ cells, which present antigens, and the T and B lymphocytes, which are specific white blood corpuscles.

The Langerhans’ cells make up about 3 – 5 % of the cells of the epidermis and are located in the intermediate cell layer of the epidermis. The Langerhans’ cells are able to detect and absorb pathogens (agents that cause illnesses) or chemical substances. They migrate through the epidermis into the dermis, and from there are transported via the lymphatic system to the peripheral lymph nodes. There, the alien material is either destroyed, or fragments of it are presented by the Langerhans’ cells to the T lymphocytes. This activates the T lymphocytes, which release a number of messenger substances, the cytokines. The cytokines control the growth, function and differentiation of cells. When activated in this way, the T lymphocytes divide and are specifically prepared to respond to the antigen. On renewed contact with the antigen, they are then able to respond even faster and more effectively. The T lymphocytes also present the antigens (fragments of harmful agents) to which they have reacted to the B lymphocytes, and activate them. The B lymphocytes then produce soluble antibodies, the immunoglobulins, and release them into the blood. The immunoglobulins recognise and bind the alien antigen and initiate a cleaning-up process.

The specific lymphocytes and immunoglobulins are returned to the skin via the blood system. The earlier the immune response takes place, the less harm is caused to the body. In the case of allergies, the information about the antigen is stored for life in specific immune cells (“memory cells”). Renewed contact with the antigen, e.g. the nickel used in fashion jewellery, immediately triggers an intolerance response of the skin, or in the case of pollen an allergy of the mucous membranes and respiratory organs.

For the skin, two types of the four immunological reactions are of special importance. The early reaction type (type 1, humoral allergy) occurs within seconds or minutes, and may recur after another 4 – 6 hours. This type can be observed in nettle rash (urticaria) and allergies of the respiratory organs (hay fever, asthma). It can be triggered by such things as insect stings (bees, wasps), foodstuffs or medication. The delayed reaction type (type 4, cell-presented allergy) occurs after 12 – 72 hours, provided it has been preceded by a sensitisation phase over 5 – 21 days. It can be caused e.g. by contact allergies (nickel in fashion jewellery), tuberculin, or medication.

Immunsystem

Die Haut stellt unsere Grenzfläche zur Umwelt dar und ist gleichsam der Vorposten des Immunsystems. Das Immunsystem organisiert die Abwehr- und Schutzmechanismen des Körpers. Der Körper wehrt sich gegen den Feind, der den Schutzmantel der Haut zu durchdringen versucht. Die rechtzeitige Abwehr hängt also entscheidend von der Funktionsfähigkeit der Haut ab. Entzündungs- und Abwehrreaktionen arbeiten zusammen, um den Körper von außen und auch von innen z.B. gegen Tumorzellen zu schützen. Die Entzündungsreaktionen reparieren durch ein kompliziertes Zusammenspiel von Gefäßprozessen, Botenstoffen und Entzündungszellen Gewebsdefekte und unterstützen die Abwehrreaktion des Immunsystems.

Die Haut ist ständig biologischen, chemischen und physikalischen Schadstoffen aus der Umwelt ausgesetzt. Wesentliche Aufgabe des Immunsystems der Haut ist es, diese schädigenden Einflüsse abzuwehren oder unschädlich zu machen. Zu den biologischen Schadstoffen gehören Viren, Bakterien, Pilze und Parasiten und zu den physikalischen Sonnenstrahlen, Hitze und Kälte. Chemische Substanzen können als Kontaktallergene spezifische Überempfindlichkeitsreaktionen auslösen. Die immunologischen Reaktionen wehren jedoch nicht nur Schadstoffe ab, sondern verursachen auch Überempfindlichkeitsreaktionen wie Allergien und Autoimmunkrankheiten, also gegen körpereigene Substanzen gerichtete Abwehrreaktionen. Häufige Allergien sind der Heuschnupfen, die Kontaktallergie oder auch Nahrungsmittel- und Medikamentenunverträglichkeiten.

Das Immunsystem der Haut besteht aus verschiedenen Zellen und Botenstoffen, die an der Regulation der Schutz- und Überempfindlichkeitsreaktonen zwischen diesen Zellen beteiligt sind. Zu den Zellen gehören die Antigen-präsentierenden Langerhans-Zellen und die T- und B-Lymphozyten, spezifische weiße Blutkörperchen.

Die Antigen-präsentierenden Langerhans-Zellen machen etwas 3-5 % der Zellen der Oberhaut aus und liegen in den mittleren Zelllagen der Oberhaut. Die Langerhans-Zellen können Krankheitserreger oder chemische Substanzen erkennen und aufnehmen. Sie wandern durch die Oberhaut in die Lederhaut und dort über das Lymphsystem zu den peripheren Lymphknoten. In den Lymphknoten wird das Fremdmaterial vernichtet oder Bruchstücke dieses Schadstoffes werden durch die Langerhans-Zellen den T-Lymphozyten präsentiert. Dadurch werden die T-Lymphozyten aktiviert und schütten eine Reihe von Botenstoffen, die Zytokine, aus. Die Zytokine steuern Wachstum, Funktion und Differenzierung von Zellen. Die so aktivierten T-Lymphozyten teilen sich und werden speziell auf die Abwehrreaktion des Antigens vorbereitet. Bei erneutem Kontakt mit dem Antigen reagieren sie noch wirksamer und schneller. Die T-Lymphozyten präsentieren die Antigene (Bruchstücke von Schadstoffen), mit denen sie reagiert haben, auch den B-Lymphozyten und aktivieren diese. Die B-Lymphozyten bilden dann lösliche Abwehrkörper, die Immunglobuline, und geben sie in das Blut ab. Die Immunglobuline erkennen und binden das Antigen (Fremdsubstanz) und leiten Aufräumvorgänge ein.

Die spezifischen Lymphozyten und Immunglobuline gelangen über den Blutkreislauf zur Haut zurück. Je früher die Abwehr erfolgt, umso geringer ist der Schaden für den Körper. Die Informationen über das Antigen bleiben bei Allergien lebenslang in spezifischen Immunzellen (“Gedächtniszellen”, “memory cells”) gespeichert. Bei erneutem Kontakt mit dem Antigen wird z.B. auf Nickel im Modeschmuck sofort eine Unverträglichkeitsreaktion der Haut und z.B. bei Pollenflug eine Allergie der Schleimhäute und Atemwege ausgelöst.

Für die Haut sind zwei Typen der vier immunologischen Reaktionen von besonderer Bedeutung.

Der Soforttyp (Typ 1, humorale Allergie) tritt innerhalb von Sekunden bis Minuten auf, evtl. erneut nach 4-6 Stunden. Er wird bei Nesselfieber (Urticaria) und Allergien der Atemwege (Heuschnupfen, Asthma) beobachtet. Auslöser: z. B. Insektenstiche (Biene, Wespe), Pollen, Nahrungsmittel, Medikamente.

Der Spättyp (Typ 4, verzögerter Typ, zellvermittelte Allergie) tritt nach 12-72 Stunden auf, vorausgesetzt, daß zuvor eine Sensibilisierungsphase über 5-21 Tagen erfolgt ist. Auslöser: z.B. Kontaktallergene (Nickel im Modeschmuck), Tuberkulin, Arzneimittel.