The Skin

The skin covers the outer surface of the body and is our interface with the natural environment. It is the body organ with the biggest area and the heaviest weight. The skin protects the inside of the body from physical, mechanical and thermal influences. It prevents fluid loss from the body and penetration by microorganisms into the body. The skin plays an important role in our immune defence system and acts as a filter against ultraviolet light. It also plays an important role in body temperature, electrolyte and water regulation. The pigment melanin and vitamin D are formed in the skin on exposure to sunlight.

The skin protects the body from the external environment, but also interacts with it through the nervous system. Free nerve endings and sensory organs detect pressure, vibration, heat, cold, pain and itching. This information is transmitted to the brain through the nerve paths.

At the body orifices (eyelids, nostrils, lips, urethral orifice, vaginal entrance, anus), the external skin changes and becomes the internal mucous membranes. So the body is covered on the outside by the skin, on the inside by the mucous membranes.

The skin has a surface area of about 1.5 to 2.0 m² and accounts for some 15 to 20 % of our body weight. It consists of three layers: the outer skin (epidermis), the true skin (dermis) and the underskin (subcutis). The epidermis has a thickness of 0.1 – 4.0 mm, the dermis of 1.0 – 5.0 mm. The skin is thinnest on the eyelids, relatively thin on the forehead, thicker on the back, and thickest on the palms of the hands and soles of the feet. This is to protect the hands and feet from the heavy mechanical stresses of grasping and walking.
Appendages of the skin:
The hair, nails, sebaceous, sweat and scent glands are termed adnexae of the skin and develop from the epidermis.
The following information requires some attention to read and you may prefer to come back to it later on. If so, move on to the chapters that for the moment interest you more.

Die Haut

Die Haut bedeckt die äußere Körperoberfläche und verbindet uns mit der Umwelt. Sie ist das Organ mit der größten Oberfläche und dem höchsten Gewicht. Die Haut schützt das Körperinnere vor physikalischen, mechanischen und thermischen Einflüssen. Sie verhindert den Verlust von Körperflüssigkeit und das Eindringen von Mikroorganismen. Die Haut spielt eine wichtige Rolle für die Immunabwehr und dient als wirksamer Filter für das ultraviolette Licht. Ferner verfügt sie über Regulationssysteme für die Temperatur, den Elektrolyt- und Wasserhaushalt. Unter dem Einfluß des Sonnenlichts wird in der Haut das Pigment Melanin und das Vitamin D gebildet.

Die Haut schützt vor der Außenwelt, verbindet aber auch mit ihr über das Nervensystem. Freie Nervenendigungen und Sinnesorgane übermitteln Druck, Vibration, Wärme, Kälte, Schmerz und Juckreiz. Diese Informationen werden über Nervenbahnen an das Gehirn weitergeleitet.

An den Körperöffnungen (Augenlidern, Nasenlöchern, Lippen, Harnröhrenmündung, Scheideneingang, After) geht die äußere Haut in die innere Schleimhaut über. Die Haut bedeckt den Außenbereich, und die Schleimhaut kleidet den Innenbereich des Menschen aus.

Die Oberfläche der Haut beträgt 1,5 bis 2,0 m². Ihr Gewicht macht 15 bis 20 % des Körpergewichts aus. Die Haut besteht aus drei Schichten: der Oberhaut (Epidermis), der Lederhaut (Dermis) und der Unterhaut (Subcutis). Die Dicke der Oberhaut mißt 0,1- 4,0 mm, die der Lederhaut 1,0 bis 5,0 mm. Die Haut ist am dünnsten an den Augenlidern, relativ dünn an der Stirn, dicker am Rücken und am dicksten an den Hand- flächen und Fußsohlen. So schützen sich Hände und Füße vor der starken mechanischen Belastung beim Greifen und Laufen.

Haare, Nägel, Talg-, Schweiß- und Duftdrüsen werden als Anhangsgebilde der Haut bezeichnet.

Die nachfolgenden Ausführungen erfordern Aufmerksamkeit und sprechen Sie vielleicht erst später an. Wechseln Sie zuerst ruhig zu den Kapiteln, die Sie interessieren . Auf Fragen zur Haut und ihrer Funktion, die sich aus den Kapiteln ergeben, finden Sie hier eine Antwort. Der Text und die Abbildungen ergänzen sich dabei. Klicken Sie auf die Abbildungen für eine vergrößerte Darstellung.