Acne

Acne is a condition of the sebaceous gland/hair follicle structure. It occurs in more than 80 % of adolescents and young adults between the ages of 10 and 25. In rare cases, it can even continue until people are in their thirties. Girls usually get “spots” at an earlier age than boys. Boys, however, are usually more severely affected than girls. The condition also tends to get worse in autumn and winter.

The inflamed skin manifestations occur mostly in the face, but in severer cases also on the chest and back, the scalp, the armpits and groin, the area of the genitals and also in the fold of the buttocks. The most frequent form of acne is acne vulgaris, or common acne. Acne is in large part caused by hormonal factors, e.g. the changes in hormone levels that occur during puberty, but predisposition and also external factors play a role. Some forms of acne are triggered by pharmaceutical drugs, chemical substances, or even cosmetics. A special form of acne is the so-called acne excoriata, caused by squeezing and scratching of spots. Babies may also develop a mild form of acne soon after birth or in their first few weeks of life, which then disappears again spontaneously after a few months. The cause of acne is raised levels of androgens (male sex hormones) and increased response of the sebaceous gland follicles to this hormone.

Akne vulgaris

Akne vulgaris

All forms of acne are characterised by increased sebum secretion and hornification disturbances of the excretory ducts of the sebaceous glands. These hornification disturbances are known as black heads/white heads/zits (comedones). There are open, black comedones and closed, white ones. These plugs of hornified matter prevent the increased quantities of sebum from being able to escape from the sebaceous glands. The sebum is then colonised by bacteria which, through their enzymes (lipase), cause fatty acids to be released from the grease. The build-up of sebum and fatty acids triggers an inflammatory response of the sebaceous glands/hair follicles. The inflamed, extended follicle walls produce the typical lumps (papules) or, where there is heavy bacterial colonisation, the spots (pustules) filled with matter. Depending on the severity of the inflammation, the follicle walls may burst inwards, whereby the content of sebum, fatty acids and horn can cause abscesses, foreign body reactions and the formation of lumps in the surrounding dermis, which frequently leave scars on healing.

Of major importance for the occurrence of acne are hormonal factors, and especially the influence of male sex hormones (androgens). Androgens are also produced in small quantities in the ovaries and the adrenal cortex of women. However, boys produce ten times more androgens than girls. This explains why male adolescents tend to be worse affected by acne. As a general rule, however, it is not so much the increased androgen level itself that causes the acne, but an increased, genetically predisposed response of the androgen receptors on the sebaceous glands. These receptors are differently structured. So even only low concentrations of androgens may be sufficient during puberty to trigger a substantial rise in sebaceous gland function. In women, the ratio between the androgens and the other hormones, especially female sex hormones, plays an important role in the occurrence of acne. So high-oestrogen pills and anti-androgens can often bring about a significant improvement in the acne condition. When women stop taking these pills, the result is frequently a renewed deterioration in the skin condition. Acne also often flares up again after a woman has given birth. This is because after the birth of a child, the woman’s oestrogen level falls, allowing the acne to recur.

Other factors that can encourage acne are emotional stress, pressure, friction and the exclusion of air. A rucksack rubbing against the back, for example, can cause acne on that part of the body to worsen. Pressure resulting from resting the face on the hands can reinforce the inflammatory response of acne. Acne is, however, not affected by diet. Sweets and chocolate, fatty and spicy foods or fast foods do not have any significant influence. However, a varied diet containing ballast, fruit and vegetables is always to be generally recommended.

Contact at work with mineral oils or medication containing iodine and bromine, lithium and hydantoin, local and systematic corticosterone as well as oral contraceptives can also cause acne to worsen.

The treatment of acne depends on the degree of severity. Treatment should begin early and be undertaken consistently, especially in people who suffer from blackheads and the like at an early age or whose parents or brothers/sisters also have or had acne. Early treatment can reduce the severity of the acne or shorten the length of suffering, and also help to prevent scarring. Treating the acne improves people’s visual appearance. This strengthens their self-confidence and self-esteem, and not infrequently also helps to improve their employment opportunities.

Regular cleaning of greasy skin with soft, grease-absorbing wipes, lukewarm water, pH-neutral soaps, mild washing lotions or antibacterial cleaning gels is recommended. This enables grease, dirt and make-up to be gently removed, and so prepares the skin for the subsequent treatment. It is best to clean the skin in this way in the morning and evening. Too frequent and too intensive cleaning may irritate the skin. Peeling creams with aluminium oxide particles or fruit acids are also often recommended for “cleaning”. These frequently also help to remove blackheads/whiteheads. For people with a very “shiny” facial skin, it is better to remove the excess grease by patting the face all over with a paper handkerchief several times a day, rather than washing the face too often.

For less severe forms of acne, disinfecting gels, tinctures or creams, which may also contain antibacterial and comedo-releasing substances, should first be applied to the skin. Preparations with erythromycin or clindamycin and tetracycline are those most frequently used. Benzyl peroxide also has a horn-releasing and comedo-removing effect. The following substances, which are used in the severer forms of acne, also have a peeling effect and therefore allow the sebum to escape from the blocked sebaceous glands. Among these products with a stronger peeling effect are the retinoids, e.g. vitamin A acid (tretinoin), isotretinoin and adapalen. Azelaic acid also has a slight peeling effect.

For moderately severe cases of acne, antibiotics to be taken internally may also be given, e.g. tetracyclin, doxycyclin or minocyclin. Another possibility for women is therapy with a high-oestrogen “pill”. These are contraceptives with an anti-androgen effect, which produce a substantial improvement in greasy skin and the formation of comedones. It should be noted, however, that antibiotics may reduce the contraceptive effect of the “pill”.

If desired, a cosmetic therapy with coloured anticomedo creams – with or without anti-inflammatory additives – can be used. These creams should be applied in addition to the basic therapy.

As far as the normal cosmetics used are concerned, care should be taken to use those which are not comedogenic, i.e. which do not encourage the formation of blackheads. Many sun creams also contain substances that activate the formation of comedones. Therefore, gels, cream gels and water-in-oil emulsions with a high water content should be used.

acne
Severe forms of acne
Severe forms of acne tend not to respond adequately to the external and internal treatment as described above. If no improvement is found after 6 months of treatment, the vitamin A acid isotretinoin (13-cis retinic acid) can be given internally.

However, this drug may only be given to women who are absolutely certain not to conceive. Because of the strong effect on the sebaceous glands, isotretinoin is also teratogenic, i.e. it can harm the embryo. The substance effectively blocks sebum production and the formation of comedones, and hypertrophic sebaceous glands “shrink” to normal size. It also has an anti-inflammatory effect, and even thick lumps under the skin are reduced in size. Long-term success is obtained in about 80 % of patients treated in this way, and may last for months or sometimes even years. For people with severe acne, treatment with isotretinoin can be safely repeated.

On healing, bad acne often leaves crater-like, wormhole-like or even raised (hypertrophic) scars. As these usually improve over a period of 1-3 years, gentle remediation measures should first be attempted, e.g. cryotherapy with repeated local application of freezer sprays. In the case of hypertrophic scars, injections of cortisone into the scar tissue may help. Once the acne spots are no longer inflamed, peeling may be performed with fruit acids or trichloracetic acid. If this is not sufficient, surgical “peeling” methods in the form of dermabrasion or laser ablation can be used. If they do not respond to cryotherapy or cortisone injections, acne lumps can be removed by excision, i.e. cutting them out. After peeling or surgery, sun protection must be used consistently for several months in order to prevent unnecessary hyperpigmentation.

Acne inversa (hidradenitis suppurativa, “Sweat gland abscesses in adults”)

Acne inversa is the name for a chronic condition with inflamed abscesses in the armpits, groin and genital area, and in rare cases also on the scalp. It is characterised by the intermittent occurrence of painful, festering inflammatory processes. This may result, side by side, in abscesses, fistulae, comedones and scarred areas of skin, with marked hypertrophic and bridge scarring. The condition can occur from puberty, right up to the forties. In women, the abscesses occur predominantly in the armpits, in men more frequently in the genital and anal area. This illness mostly affects patients with a congenital predisposition to acne. Overweight is a further influencing factor.

The illness varies strongly from individual to individual. Some patients only suffer at long intervals, with reddish-blue spots that are painful under pressure, but which heal spontaneously. In other patients, the condition progresses continuously, affecting more and more areas. Deep fistulae and scars can develop, which are very painful and cause movement restrictions.

The condition is treated by internal antibiotics such as erythromycin and tetracyclin. Cortisone may also be used locally, and sometimes also internally. In the early stages, isotretinoin given orally sometimes helps. Troublesome lumps may be removed surgically under local anaesthetic. In the case of processes covering a large area, healing is sometimes only achieved by radical surgical removal of the whole area of affected skin. For these operations, skin shifting techniques or skin transplants are necessary.skinpilot side tour

Akne

Die Akne ist eine Erkrankung der Talgdrüsen – Haarfollikel – Struktur. Sie tritt bei mehr als 80 % der Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen zwischen 10 und 25 Jahren auf. In seltenen Fällen kann sie bis in das 4. Lebensjahrzehnt andauern. Bei Mädchen treten die „Pickel“ meist früher als bei Jungen auf. Der Krankheitsverlauf ist bei Jungen hingegen schwerer als bei Mädchen. Auch wird oft eine Verschlechterung im Herbst und Winter beobachtet.
Die entzündlichen Hautveränderungen treten im Gesicht, in schweren Fällen auch an Brust, Rücken, Kopfhaut, Achseln, Leisten, Genitalbereich und in der Gesäßfalte auf. Am häufigsten ist das Bild der Akne vulgaris. Bei der Entstehung der Akne spielen hormonelle Faktoren, wie die Umstellung der Hormonspiegel im Verlauf der Pubertät, aber auch anlagemäßige und äußere Faktoren eine Rolle. Einige Akneformen werden durch Medikamente, chemische Substanzen oder auch Kosmetika hervorgerufen. Eine Sonderform ist die Akne excoriée, die durch Manipulationen mit Drücken, Quetschen und Kratzen entsteht. Säuglinge können nach der Geburt oder in den ersten Lebenswochen eine leichte Akneform ausbilden, die sich spontan in wenigen Monaten zurückbildet. Ursache sind erhöht ausgeschüttetes Androgen (männliches Keimdrüsenhormon) und ein verstärktes Ansprechen der Talgdrüsenfollikel auf dieses Hormon.

Akne vulgaris

Akne vulgaris

Bei allen Akneformen entwickelt sich eine erhöhte Talgsekretion mit Verhornungsstörung der Talgdrüsenausführungsgänge. Diese Ver- hornungsstörungen werden als Mitesser (Komedonen) bezeichnet. Es gibt offene, schwarze und geschlossenen, weiße Mitesser. Diese Hornpröpfe verhindern, dass der verstärkt gebildete Talg aus den Talgdrüsen abfließen kann. Bakterien besiedeln den Talg und setzen mit ihren Enzymen (Lipasen) aus dem Fett Fettsäuren frei. Der gestaute Talg und die Fettsäuren bewirken eine entzündliche Reaktion der Talgdrüsen-Haarfollikel-Anlage. Die entzündeten, überdehnten Follikelwände bilden die typischen Knötchen (Papeln), bei starker bakterieller Besiedelung auch eitrige Knötchen (Pusteln). Je nach Ausprägung der Entzündung können die überdehnten Follikelwände einreißen und der Inhalt aus Talg, Fettsäuren und Horn in der umgebenden Lederhaut Abszesse, Fremdkörperreaktionen und Knotenbildung hervorrufen, die häufig mit Narben abheilen.

Wichtig für die Entstehung der Akne sind hormonelle Faktoren, insbesondere die Einwirkung männlicher Sexualhormone (Androgene). Auch Frauen bilden in geringen Mengen Androgene in den Eierstöcken und der Nebennierenrinde. Jungen produzieren zehn mal mehr Androgene als Mädchen. Dies erklärt die häufig schwereren Akneformen bei männlichen Jugendlichen. Entscheidend für die Ausbildung der Akne ist in der Regel nicht ein erhöhter Androgenspiegel, sondern ein verstärktes anlagemäßiges (genetisch bedingtes) Ansprechen der Androgenrezeptoren an den Talgdrüsen. Diese Rezeptoren an den Talgdrüsen sind unterschiedlich aufgebaut. So genügen bereits geringe Androgenkonzentrationen in der Pubertät, um die Talgdrüsenfunktion erheblich zu steigern. Bei Frauen ist das Verhältnis zwischen den Androgenen und den anderen, vor allem weiblichen Sexualhormonen für die Entstehung der Akne wichtig. So verbessern östrogenbetonte Pillen und Antiandrogene die Akne zum Teil deutlich. Nach dem Absetzen dieser Pille kommt es dann häufig zu einer erneuten Verschlechterung des Hautbildes. Ein Aufblühen der Akne sieht man auch öfter nach der Entbindung. Nach der Geburt fallen die Östrogenspiegel ab und die Akne kann wieder auftreten.

Weitere Faktoren, die eine Akne beeinflussen können, sind emotionaler Stress, Druck, Reibung und Luftabschluss. So kann Reibung durch einen Rucksack zu einer Verschlechterung der Akne auf dem Rücken führen. Druck durch häufiges Aufstützen des Gesichts auf die Hände kann die Entzündungsreaktionen der Akne verstärken. Keinen Einfluss auf die Akne hat hingegen die Ernährung. Süßigkeiten wie Schokolade, fettes Essen, scharfe Gewürze, Fast Food verschlechtern die Akne nicht wesentlich. Empfehlenswert ist eine abwechselungsreiche Kost mit Ballaststoffen, Obst und Gemüse.

Kontakt mit Mineralölen im Beruf und Medikamente wie Jod- und Brompräparate, Lithium, Hydantoin, lokale und systemische Kortikosteroide und orale Kontrazeptiva können zu einer Verschlechtern der Akne führen.

Die Behandlung der Akne richtet sich nach dem Schweregrad. Die Behandlung sollte frühzeitig und konsequent erfolgen, vor allem , wenn Mitesser bereits in niedrigem Lebensalter auftreten und / oder bei Eltern und Geschwistern eine Akne besteht oder bestanden hat. Durch die frühzeitige Behandlung kann die Schwere der Akne gemindert, der Krankheitsverlauf häufig verkürzt werden und die Bildung von Narben vermieden werden. Durch die Behandlung der Akne wird das Aussehen verbessert. Hierdurch wird das Selbstbewusstsein und Selbstwertgefühl gesteigert und nicht selten werden auch die beruflichen Chancen verbessert.

Eine konsequente Reinigung der fetten Haut mit teils weichen, fettaufsaugenden Tüchern, lauwarmem Wasser, pH-neutralen Seifen, milden Waschsyndets oder antibakteriellen Reinigungsgelen ist zu empfehlen. So können Fett, Schmutz und Make up-Reste schonend entfernt und die Haut für die anschließende Behandlung vorbereitet werden. Optimal ist eine Reinigung morgens und abends. Eine zu häufige und intensive Reinigung kann die Haut eher reizen. Zur „Reinigung“ werden auch häufig Peeling-Cremes (Rubbel-Cremes) mit Aluminiumoxid-Partikeln oder auch Fruchtsäuren empfohlen. Nicht selten lassen sich dadurch Mitesser entfernen. Bei stark glänzender Gesichtshaut ist es besser, mehrmals am Tag das überschüssige Fett mit einem Papiertaschentuch abzutupfen als das Gesicht zu häufig zu waschen.

Bei leichteren Akneformen werden zunächst desinfizierende, zum Teil antibakterielle und mitesserlösende Substanzen in Gel-, Tinktur- oder Cremeform auf die Haut aufgebracht. Zubereitungen mit Erythromycin oder auch Clindamycin und Tetracyclin werden bevorzugt. Benzoylperoxid hat noch eine hornlösende und mitesserbeseitigende Wirkung. Auch die nachfolgenden Präparate, die bei schwereren Formen der Akne eingesetzt werden, besitzen eine Schälwirkung und ermöglichen somit den Abfluss des Talgs aus den gestauten Talgdrüsen. Zu diesen stärker schälenden Präparaten gehören Retinoide, z.B. die Vitamin-A-Säure (Tretinoin), Isotretinoin und Adapalen. Auch Azelainsäure besitzt eine leichte Schälwirkung.

Bei mittelschweren Aknefällen werden zusätzlich die Antibiotika Tetracyclin, Doxycyclin oder Minocyclin innerlich verabreicht, zum Beispiel. Bei Frauen kommt außerdem die Therapie mit einer östrogenbetonten „Pille“ in Frage. Hierbei handelt es sich um antiandrogenwirkende Kontrazeptiva, die die zur Fettung neigenden Haut und die Mitesserbildung deutlich verbessern. Zu beachten ist, dass Antibiotikagaben die verhütende (antikonzeptive) Wirkung der „Pille“ verringern kann.

Je nach Leidensdruck und Wunsch kann auch eine abdeckende Therapie mit getönten antikomedogenen Cremes – mit oder ohne entzündungshemmenden Zusatz – eingesetzt werden. Diese Cremes sind über die Basistherapie zusätzlich anzuwenden.
Die Kosmetika sollten die Mitesserbildung nicht fördern, also nicht komedogen wirken. Auch Sonnencremes enthalten häufig Substanzen, die die Mitesserbildung aktivieren können. Zu empfehlen sind daher Gele, Creme-Gele und Wasser-in-Öl-Emulsionen mit hohem Wasseranteil.

akne
Schwere Akneformen sprechen meist auf die beschriebene äußere und innere Behandlung allein nicht ausreichend an. Falls nach 6-monatiger Behandlung die Akne sich nicht bessert, empfiehlt sich die Anwendung der Vitamin A-Säure Isotretinoin (13-cis-Retinsäure) innerlich.
Der Einsatz dieses Medikamentes wird bei Frauen dadurch begrenzt, dass ein sicherer Empfängnisschutz unbedingt erforderlich ist. Isotretinoin ist aufgrund der starken Wirkung auf die Talgdrüsen fruchtschädigend (teratogen). Durch diese Substanz erfolgt die wirkungsvollste Hemmung der Talgproduktion und Mitesserbildung. Die hypertrophen Talgdrüsen „schrumpfen“ auf Normalgröße. Es besteht ferner eine antientzündliche Wirkung, und selbst dicke Knotenbildungen unter der Haut bilden sich zurück. Es wird ein dauerhafter Erfolg bei ca. 80 % der Behandelten beobachtet. Der Behandlungserfolg hält Monate und manchmal Jahre an. Bei ausgeprägter Akne kann die Gabe von Isotretinoin unbedenklich wiederholt werden.

Nach Ausheilung einer schweren Akne bleiben häufig, schüsselförmige, wurmstichartige oder auch erhabene (hypertrophe) Narben zurück. Da meist mit einer Besserung der Narben innerhalb von 1-3 Jahren zu rechnen ist, sollten zuerst schonende Be- handlungsmaßnahmen wie Kryotherapie mit wiederholter lokaler Anwendung von Kältesprays versucht werden. Bei hypertrophen Narben helfen Injektionen mit Kortison in das Narbengewebe. Nach Abklingen der entzündlichen Akneerscheinungen kann ein Peeling mit Fruchtsäuren oder auch Trichloressigsäure durchgeführt werden. Als operative „schälende“ Verfahren werden die Dermabrasion und Laserablation eingesetzt. Akneknoten können, falls sie nicht auf die Kyrotherapie oder Injektion mit Kortison ansprechen, durch Exzision entfernt werden. Nach Peelingverfahren und Operationen ist für mehrere Monate ein konsequenter Sonnenschutz anzuwenden, um unnötige Hyperpigmentierungen zu verhindern.

Unter Akne inversa (Hidradinitis suppurativa, „Schweißdrüsenabszesse der Erwachsenen“) versteht man eine chronische Erkrankung mit entzündlichen Knoten und Abszessen in den Achseln, Leisten, im Genitalbereich, selten auch im Bereich der behaarten Kopfhaut. Es kommt zu schubweisen, schmerzhaften eitrigen Entzündungsprozessen. So finden sich nebeneinander abszessartige Knotenbildungen, zahlreiche Fistelgänge, Komedonen und vernarbte Areale mit deutlich hypertrophen und Brückennarben. Die Erkrankung tritt zwischen der Pubertät und dem 5. Lebensjahrzeht auf. Bei Frauen finden sich die störenden Abszessbildungen vor allem in den Achseln, bei Männern häufiger im Genital- und Analbereich. Meist treten diese Beschwerden bei Patienten mit angeborener Akneneigung auf. Begünstigend wirkt Übergewicht.
Der Krankheitsverlauf ist sehr unterschiedlich. Manche Patienten leiden nur in größeren Abständen unter spontan heilenden „rotblauen“, druckschmerzhaften Knoten. Bei anderen schreitet die Krankheit ständig fort, wobei größere einschmelzende Areale auftreten. Es bilden sich tiefe Fistelgänge und Vernarbungen, die erhebliche Schmerzen und Bewegungseinschränkungen verursachen können.

Zur Behandlung werden innerlich Antibiotika wie Erythromycin und Tetracyclin eingesetzt. Kortison kann lokal und gelegentlich auch innerlich verabreicht werden. In den frühen Krankheitsstadien hilft manchmal eine Behandlung mit Isotretinoin oral. Störende Knoten werden operativ in örtlicher Betäubung entfernt. Bei ausgedehnten Prozessen wird eine Ausheilung oft erst durch radikale operative Entfernung der gesamten betroffenen Hautareale erreicht. Für diese Operationen sind Verschiebetechniken und Verpflanzungen der Haut erforderlich.